Other County Histories | Civil War | 1913 Vol. 1 | 1913 Vol. 2 | 1916 | Depression |
History of Livingston County
from The History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri.  1886

Table of Contents

Previous Chapter

Next Chapter




General History - Early Settlers - First Land Entries - Pioneer Religious Services - Mills - Sam Thompson - In War Times - Peace - Spring Hill - Country Churches - Sampsel Township - Town of Sampsel - Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church - Biographical.

The general history of Jackson and Sampsel townships up to the year 1874, when the latter was created, is so closely connected generally, so blended in fact, that it is extremely difficult of separation, and properly belongs in one chapter. It will therefore be treated as the history of one township, Jackson, up to the date mentioned.

Formerly, and at first, the township was called Indian Creek, and bore this name until 1839 when it was named in honor of the renowned hero of the Hermitage. Its original territory comprised the land lying in this county between the forks of Grand river, which was its area until Sampsel was formed.


The first settlements in this township were made as early as in 1833, in which year Levi Goben, who is still living, came with two or three others. Settlers came in thereafter quite rapidly, and by the year 1836 there were perhaps fifty families scattered throughout the forks. The locality was a favorite one with the pioneers. There was an abundance of timberland, game and springs, three things considered at that day indispensable to mankind. The first could be cultivated and made to yield bread, the second could be shot and made to furnish meat, and the last named could be walled in and made to supply drink.

A majority of the settlers had come originally to Missouri from Kentucky; but many had first settled in the lower or river counties. Attracted by favorable reports from the Grand river country, they had pushed up into the wilderness as far as they dared to venture. Log cabins and small clearings were soon made throughout the county and in 1836 Jesse Nave had established a little store at Spring Hill, then called Navestown, which name it bore for some years.

The country was a hunter's paradise. The honey hunters from the lower counties had left many bee trees, and game was so plenty that it was often shot for mere pastime. Even bears were to be met with, while panthers, wildcats, and huge timber wolves were for a time unpleasantly numerous. Every settler depended to a greater or less extent on his rifle as a means of supplying meat for his table.

The community was orderly and friendly. Every man regarded his neighbor as his brother, and feeling his dependence exercised a proper amount of forbearance. Lawsuits were almost unknown, and controversies of any sort few and unimportant. There were no paupers or tramps. If a man needed help, he received it. No suspicions were entertained of strangers. A man was deemed to be honest until he was found to be dishonest, and it was a hard road to travel ever after for him who forfeited the good opinion of his neighbors. There was no tale-bearing, no gossip, no circulation of evil report. Men were careful what they said of their fellow-men. No wonder the old settlers loved to the day of their death to speak of the good old days in Jackson.

For the most part the settlers were uncultured and unlettered, but there was among them that natural generosity and unsophisticated frankness which after all make up the best refinement. Schools were few in number; churches fewer still. There were many religious men and women, and some educated and acquainted with the world, and the township was not given to general ignorance and barbarism by any means.

The first land entries in the township, prior to 1840, by actual residents, are here given. These show who were the first settlers, although many of the settlements were made some years before the entries. In the lower part of the township (57 - 24) the land did not come into market and could not be entered until 1836; in the northwest portion (59-25), it was not open to entry until in 1838, while in the eastern part, along Grand river (townships 58 and 59, range 24), it was not in market until 1840.

B. F. Baker frac. sw. 1/4 sec 9 Aug. 16, 1836
Joseph Harper ne. ne. sec. 17 July 11, 1839
H. I. Martin w. 1/2 se. sec. 8 July 11, 1839
Reub. McCoskrie ne. ne. sec. 18 Feb. 28, 1838
Leonard Scollay n. 1/2 nw. sec. 17 Oct. 16, 1837
David Martin s. 1/2 se. sec. 7 April 4, 1839
Wm. Smith sw. 1/4 ne. sec. 8 Jan. 27, 1840
Jonathan Smith s. 1/2 ne. sec. 4 Jan. 27, 1840
Jonathan Massigee n. 1/2 nw. sec. 4 Jan. 27, 1840
James Nave n. 1/2 and nw. sw. sec. 5 1840
David Girdner se. sec. 5 Jan. 27, 1840
John Kirk se. sw. sec. 5, se. se. sec. 7 Dec. 29, 1843
John Hargrove sw. sw. sec. 5, se. 1/4 sec. 6 1840
Jesse Nave ne. 1/4 and e. 1/2 nw. sec. 6 1840
John Hargrove e. 1/2 sw. sec. 6, e. 1/2 nw. sec. 7 Jan. 27, 1840
Wm. Finley e. 1/2 sw. sec. 7 Jan. 20, 1840
Geo. McCoy nw. sec. 8 1840
Nova Zembla Johnson nw. ne. sec. 8 Dec. 8, 1842
Henderson Sims ne. ne. sec. 8 Oct. 23, 1844
Wm. Sims se. ne. and ne. se. sec. 8 Dec. 21, 1840
Joseph S. Hoskins nw. ne. sec. 17 Nov. 16, 1840
John Kirk w. 1/2 nw. sec. 17 Mar. 2, 1842
Matthew Gibbs e. 1/2 ne. sec. 18 Jan. 23, 1840
Zina G. Ayer sw. ne. w. 1/2 se. and se. nw. sec. 18 May 20, 1840
John Yeates ne. nw. sec. 18 Feb. 10, 1840
Warren S. Pond sw. se. sec. 5 Jan. 18, 1842
James Walls ne. se. sec. 6 Jan. 13, 1844
T. A. Harbut n. 1/2 ne. sec. 6 May 4, 1840
T. J. Harbut e. 1/2 nw. sec. 6 May 4, 1840
Noah R. Hobbs e. 1/2 sw. sec. 7, and e. 1/2 se. sec. 18 Jan. 2, 8, 1840
David Curtis e. 1/2 se. sec. 7 Jan. 2, 1840
Sam'l Curtis e. 1/2 ne. sec. 7 Jan. 2, 1840
Stephen Shrive sw. ne. sec. 7 Jan. 6, 1842
Sam. W. Anderson sw. sw. sec. 8 Dec. 18, 1840
Wm. Curtis se. sw. sec. 8 Dec. 10, 1840
Thos. Curtis se. nw. sec. 8 Mar. 19, 1840
Elias Gutbridge se. sec. 8 Dec. 2, 1839
Chas. H. Hays nw. sec. 17 Jan. 28, 1840
Stephen P. Shrive e. 1/2 ne. sec. 18 Jan. 24, 1840
John D. Martin w. 1/2 ne. w. 1/2 se. sec. 18 Oct. 9, 1839
Wm. Brummett e. 1/2 nw. and e. 1/2 sw. sec. 18 Oct. 14, 1839
Wm. Venable w. 1/2 ne. sec. 19 Dec. 2, 1839
John W. Boyle e. 1/2 nw. sec. 19 Jan. 28, 1840
Wm. Smith e. 1/2 se. sec. 29, nw. ne. sec. 3 Dec. 1, 1840
John B. Hines e. 1/2 nw. and e. 1/2 sw. sec. 31 Oct. 3, 1839
Samuel B. Campbell se. 1/4 and w. 1/2 ne. sec. 31 Jan. 28, 1840
James G. Smith ne. ne. sec. 32 Nov. 30, 1840
John Doss nw. 33 Nov. 30, 1840
John Findley ne. 33 Jan. 28, 1840
Wyatt Ogle n. 1/2 se. sec. 33 Mar. 3, 1840
Thomas J. Harbert e. 1/2 ne. sec. 1 May 4, 1840
Rice Ware e. 1/2 nw. sec. 1 Dec. 18, 1838
Alex. Dockery s. 1/2 se. sec. 2 . Dec. 14, 1839
Alex. Dockery ne. 1/4 e. 1/2 se. sec. 10 Nov. 19, 1838
Robert Dockery sw. sw. sec. 10 July 31, 1839
John Brigle w. 1/2 nw. sec. 10 . Oct. 25, 1839
R. W. Reeves ne. ne. sec. 3 and nw. se. sec. 9 Dec. 19, 1840
Hugh S. Welch nw. ne. sec. 3 Oct. 21, 1839
Green S. Reeves sw. ne. sec. 3 e. 1/2 se. sec. 8 Nov. 19, 1839
John B. Hines se. 1/4 sec. 3 July 13, 1839
Wm. C. Davis w. 1/2 sw. sec 3, e. 1/2 se. sec. 9 and ne. sec. 9 Nov. 19, 1838
Samuel V. Ramsey w. 1/2 nw. sec. 3 June 17, 1839
John Carmichael e. 1/2 nw. sec. 3, sw. 1/4 sec. 8, etc. Oct. 21, 1839
Samuel V. Ramsey n. 1/2 sec. 4, n. 1/4 and e. 1/2 nw. sec. 5 . Nov. 19, 1838
E. S. Andrews w. 1/2 nw., w. 1/2 sw. sec. 5 July 17, 1839
Moses Masters se. 1/4 sec. 7 Nov. 19, 1838
Wm. F. Peery w. 1/2 se. sec. 7 Dec. 11, 1838
E. S. Andrews nw. sec. 8 June 17, 1839
Wm. S. Miller e. 1/2 sw. sec. 9 April 3, 1839
Milton P. House nw. sec. 10 Oct. 30, 1838
Dudley Ware nw. sec. 11 Oct. 9, 1838
Rosson & Dockery sw. sec. 11 Oct. 9, 1838
Wm. O. Jennings sw. e. 1/2 nw. sec. 15 Nov. 19, 1838
John Doss w. 1/2 nw. sec. 15 April 2, 1839
Jonathan Jordan w. 1/2 se. sec. 17, e. 1/2 n. sec. 20 Dec. 14, 1838
Thos. Peery sw. 1/2 sec. 17, w. 1/2 sw. sec. 18 Dec. 14, 1838
Wm. M. Crawford se. sec. 18 Dec. 10, 1838
Wm. S. Miller 1/2 ne. and w. 1/2 nw. sec. 19, and w. 1/2 nw. sec. 31, sw. se. sec. 28 e. 1/2 nw. sec. 20 Dec. and Nov.


Wm. S. Miller nw. se. sec. 19, nw. ne. sec. 28 e. 1/2 se. sec. 20 1839
Robt. C. Campbell e. 1/2 se. and sw. se. sec. 19 1838
Abram Sportsman w. 1/2 sw. sec. 20 . Oct. 7, 1838
Danl. Y. Kesler e. 1/2 ne. sec. 20, sw. 1/4 sec. 22 Nov. 21, 1839
John Hart s. 1/2 sec. 21 Nov. 19, 1838
Payton Sherwood ne. 1/4 sec. 21 Nov. 27, 1838
Wm. L. Black ne. ne. sec. 22 April 4, 1839
Jas. W. Black sw. sec. 23 Oct. 20, 1838
R. T. Roland sw. nw. sec. 23 April 4, 1839
Saml. Venable se. sec. 23 Oct. 18, 1838
John Doss ne. 1/4 sec. 23, sw. 24, nw. sec. 26 Nov. 19, 1838
W. A. Jones se. sec. 24 Oct. 22, 1838
James Leeper w. 1/2 sec. 25 Oct. 18, 1838
Andrew Ligett w. 1/2 se. e. sec. 25 Nov. 26, 1838
John S. Campbell e. 1/2 se. sec. 25 Nov. 20, 1838
Nathan Cox nw. sw. se. se. sec. 31, w. 1/2 sw. sec. 32 1839
Mark White sw. sec. 31 Dec. 1, 1838
Wm. Martin nw. sec. 32 Oct. 22, 1838
Alex. Martin e. 1/2 sw. w. 1/2 se. sec. 32 Nov. 19, 1838
Thos. Stone 1/2 ne. e. 1/2 se. sec. 32 and w. 1/2 ne. e. 1/2 se. sec. 33 Dec. 17, 1838
Peter Cain e. 1/2 ne. sec. 32 Nov. 26, 1838
Geo. W. Martin nw. sec. 33 Oct. 22, 1838
Saml. V. Ramsey sw. 1/4 and w. 1/2 se. sec. 33 Nov. 19, 1888
Wm. Carlisle e. 1/2 ne. sec. 33 Nov. 26, 1838
Wm. P. Clark e. 1/2 se. sec. 35, w. 1/2 sw. sec. 36 Nov. 19, 1838
Jas. A. Davis nw. nw., e 1/2 nw. sec. 36 1838
Benj. Hargrove ne. 1/4 sec. 36 Nov. 19, 1838
Andrew Ligett se. 1/4 e. 1/2 sw. sec. 36 1838
Wm. Linville e. 1/2 se. sec. 11. Dec. 4, 1838
Isham Ware sw. nw. sec. 12 Nov. 26, 1838
Chas. H. Hayes se. sec. 12 Nov. 19, 1838
Alex. Ware e. 1/2 ne. sec. 13 Oct. 9, 1838
Elijah Boon se. sec. 13 Nov. 10, 1838
John Findley sw.1/4 w. 1/2 nw. se. nw. sec. 13... 1838
Isham Ware e. 1/2 ne. e. 1/2 se. sec. 14 . Oct.Nov.1838
Wm. L. Black sw. 1/4 and sw. se. sec. 14 and e. 1/2 nw. sec. 23 1838
David Hicklin e. 1/2 sec. 15 . Nov. 19, 1838


Although settlements were made in what is now Sampsel township as early as 1834 and 1835, the land was not declared subject to entry, or at least no entries were made, until 1846. The reason for this was the fact that the United States surveyor, a Mr. Henderson, who laid off the township (58-25), died before making his returns, and his papers were lost. The Congressional township was known as the "lost township" from this circumstance.

The original entries in the township, therefore, are given up to 1850, excluding non-residents: -

Samuel Pepper se. sec. 1 Oct. 7, 1847
Trevis Sterling ne. sec. 1 Nov. 22, 1846
Henry Frith sw. sw. sec. 1 July 24, 1849
John Simpson e. 1/2 sw. sec. 1 Oct. 11, 1847
Andrew Ligett n. 1/2 ne. and sw. ne. sec. 2 Oct. 25, 1847
James Jennings s. 1/2 sw. sec. 2 and e. 1/2 nw. sec. 11 Oct. 25, 1847
James Hicks, Jr. w. 1/2 nw. sec.2 Oct. 25, 1847
Jesse Offield, Jr. e. 1/2 ne. sec. 8 Oct. 25, 1847
Thomas Jennings w. 1/2 se. and se. se. sec. 3 Oct. 25, 1847
Abr. Gann sw. 1/4 sec. 8 Jan. 11, 1849
James D. Kirk n. 1/2 w. and sw. nw. sec. 8, and n. 1/2 ne. sec. 4 May 25, 1848
Thomas Kirk nw. sec. 4 Nov. 21, 1846
Daniel H. Kirk sw. 1/4 sec. 4 May 25, 1845
B. D. Martin n. 1/2 ne. sec. 5 Oct. 25, 1846
Nathan Cox nw. 1/4 sec. 5 Feb. 2, 1846
Levi P. Cox sw. 1/4 sec. 5 Mar. 4, 1846
A. G. Waddell se. se. sec. 5 Nov. 11, 1848
D. B. Cox ne. 1/4 sec. 6 Oct. 14, 1846
James M. Faulkner nw. 1/4 sec. 6 Feb. 16, 1846
Thomas Litton e. 1/2 sw. sec. 6 Mar. 16, 1848
Levan Brookshier w. 1/2 sec. 7 Jan. 6, 1847
David Miller ne. ne. sec. 8 Oct. 25, 1847
John M. Minnick e. 1/2 se. sec. 8 June 12, 1847
Thomas D. Kirk nw. 1/4 sec. 9 Mar. 25, 1848
Joshua Gann e. 1/2 sw. and w. 1/2 se. sec. 9 Oct. 9, 1847
Thomas E. Boucher e. 1/2 se. sec. 9 and w. 1/2 sw. sec. 10 May 23, 1848
Thomas J. Kirk se. 1/4 sec. 10 Aug. 21, 1848
William O. Jennings w. 1/2 nw. Sec. 11 Oct. 25, 1847
John H. Clark e. 1/2 sw. sec. 11 Oct. 7, 1847
Henry Frith w. 1/2 ne. sec. 11 Oct. 11, 1847
Dr. Geo. L. WIlliams se. sec. 11 Oct. 9, 1848
Dr. Geo. L. Williams nw. sec. 12 Oct. 11, 1847
John Cooper sw. 1/4 sec. 12 Nov. 19, 1846
John Hargrove ne. sec. 12 Oct. 7, 1847
James Martin ne. sec. 18 Oct. 7, 1847
John B. Williams nw. sec. 18 Oct. 7, 1847
Jas. M. Alnutt se. sec. 18 Nov. 19, 1846
Wm. Hale w. 1/2 sw. sec. 18 Oct. 7, 1847
R. H. Stockwell se. sw. sec. 13 Aug. 14, 1849
Luther Lowe ne. sec. 14 and nw. nw. sec. 15 Oct. 10, 1849
Brannock Curtis se. sec 14 April 17, 1848
Wm. E. Gibbons sw. sec. 14 Oct. 19, 1848
F. C. Hughes nw. sec. 14 Nov. 2, 1847
F. C. Hughes ne. sec. 17 Nov. 30, 1847
Wm. Mansfield ne. sec.15 Oct. 16, 1848
Elisha Boucher se. sec. 15 May 23, 1848
Wm. G. Frith se. nw. sec. 15, Aug. 10, 1848
Henry H. Minnick sw. sec. 17 . Nov. 29, 1848
Russell Williams w. 1/2 nw. sec. 17 Nov. 16, 1846
Michael Halbert e. 1/2 nw. sec. 17 Nov. 11, 1848
Thom. Brooks e. 1/2 ne. and e. 1/2 se. sec. 18 July 24, 1849
John Mansfield, Jr. w. 1/2 ne. sec. 21 Sept. 11, 1847
Wm. T. Todd e. 1/2 ne. sec.21 Oct. 7, 1847
Jas. W. McClure w. 1/2 se. and ne. se. sec. 21, and nw. sw. sec. 22 Nov. 13, 1848
David S. Breeze w. 1/2 nw. sec. 22 Oct. 9, 1847
W. Mansfield e. 1/2 nw. and e. 1/2 sw. sec. 22 Sept. 13, 1849
Dr. Wm. Carlisle w. 1/2 ne. and se. ne. sec. 22 Oct. 9, 1847
Amos Walker sw. 1/4 sec. 28 Nov. 19, 1846
J. A. Dryden se. and ne. ne. sec. 28 Nov. 11, 1846
R. D. Alnutt nw. sec. 24 Nov. 10, 1846
Thos. J. Martin sw. sec. 24 Sept. 23, 1846
Henry H. Simons. w. 1/2 se. sec. 24 Nov. 10, 1846
James Stockwell w. 1/2 ne. sec. 24 Nov. 10, 1846
John H. Clark w. 1/2nw. sec. 25, and e. 1/2 ne. sec. 26 Oct. 16, 1848
Marcus White e. 1/2 nw. and nw. nw. sec. 26, w. 1/2 ne., ne. ne. sec. 27 1848

In time religious services were held, first at the cabins of the settlers. The house of Isham Ware was a favorite resort for the Methodists, who held the first meetings in the township. Rev. Jesse Green, of Lexington, was the first presiding elder of this district, and the first Methodist preachers in Jackson were Revs. Reuben Aldridge, T. T. Ashley, Lorenzo Waugh, Dunlevey, Millice and Blaisdell. Dunlevy and Millice were residents of the township, but both backslid afterward and went entirely to the bad.

As the country developed it became a point of importance to reach a market for produce. A great deal of bacon was cured every year, and corn, wheat, potatoes, hides, etc., were to be had very cheap. The nearest market was Brunswick, a long distance to haul wagon loads of produce over poor roads for low prices. Certain men built flat boats and keel boats in Grand river and loaded them with cargoes of provisions and articles of produce generally, and ran them down into the Missouri and on to St. Louis. This was kept up until the Hannibal Railroad was built, in 1859, and every year or so keel boat loads of the productions of the county were shipped out.

Mills were neither very scarce or very plentiful. Old Samuel E. Todd's mill, at Utica, was resorted to by the people of the southern portion of the township for many years. Horse mills were resorted to by many, and some went to Peniston's mill, up at Millport, in Daviess county. After some years John Gillaspy's mill was built on East Grand river. Hargrove's and C. H. Ashby's ferries were in existence as early as 1839; the latter was at the present site of Graham's mill.

Jackson township bore her full part in the affairs of the county, and her full share of duties and responsibilities. She furnished quite a number of men for the Mormon War, who took part in the Haun's Mill massacre, and bore other parts. She furnished men for Slack's company in the Mexican War. She was largely represented in the California emigration. In the Kansas troubles she was especially interested and furnished men and money for the pro-slavery cause.

In 1858 a "vigilance committee" was appointed at a large public meeting at Chillicothe to look after the slaveholding interests of the country and in this meeting Jackson largely participated. The "vigilance committee" was composed of a number of men from each township, and among their duties they were required to examine every new comer into the country and see if he was "sound" on the slavery question. Maj. Wm. F. Miller was one of the committee for Jackson, appointed without consultation, but he indignantly refused to serve and denounced the entire proceedings. When the war came on he served in the Southern army, but he had no sympathy with the proscriptive measures of 1858.


Among the notable characters who once resided in this township was Samuel Thompson, who came in from Indiana at a very early date and lived and died here. Sam Thompson was a great practical joker, a rare humorist, a good story-teller and withal a man of good sense. He seemed to take a pleasure, however, in creating and maintaining an impression that he was altogether eccentric and "funny."

In early days the voters of Jackson elected a man to the office of justice of the peace, who began his career by treating the voters to a bucketful of honey taken from a bee tree. He was ignorant and unlettered and a good subject for a practical joke. Thompson soon singled out the magistrate for a laughing stock. Sam had a female dog that broke into Reub. Campbell's smoke house and stole some meat. Learning of this, Sam induced Campbell and some other wags to go before Esq. W. and demand that the aforesaid dog be arrested and punished!

The unsophisticated Dogberry was easily persuaded to make himself ridiculous. He issued a warrant, delivered it to Sam Campbell, the constable, and the latter soon came into court, leading the canine culprit by a string and followed by Thompson, who assumed a serious demeanor, as if the occasion was one of real gravity. He asked to be allowed to appear as "next friend" for the dog and his request was granted.

The information alleged that "a certain bitch dog of the name of Queen" had stolen "a certain piece of midlin' meat," and so was guilty of larceny, "against the peace and dignity of the State," etc. Sam said he appeared to defend a valued "member of his household," and he entered a plea of "not guilty." Witnesses were sworn and examined, and then cross-examined very vigorously by Thompson, who contended as earnestly for the "rights" of his client as if she had been on trial for murder or high treason. The proceedings were conducted with decorum, for the magistrate was in earnest, and Thompson and the crowd affected to be. When the testimony was all in Thompson delivered a very eloquent and affecting speech for the defense, beseeching the magistrate as a last resort that if he should find "Queen" guilty, he should "consider the respect and deference due the female sex," and be merciful in the matter of punishment.

The magistrate was not to be driven from his duty by any sentimental considerations, and as the proof was conclusive he found the animal guilty and sentenced her to receive "39 lashes on the bare back, well laid on." Sam promptly gave notice of an appeal to the circuit court, offering to procure a bond for "Queen" in the sum of $100 if given a little time. The next morning the papers had to be made out in regular form, and the justice was on his way to consult a friend in the neigborhood in regard to the manner in which this was to be done, when Tom Martin, who thought the ridiculous business had gone far enough, informed Esq. W.'s brother of the real state of affairs. The brother set out at once and informed the magistrate that he had already made a fool of himself, "and for the Lord's sake stop whar you are and don't make it no wuss." Sam had meant that all the papers should be certified up in legal formality, and had arranged to have upon the dog's bond the signatures of some of the best men in the township, and he deeply regretted that his joke was stopped, though it had already proceeded far enough to furnish many a hearty laugh for years afterward.

Of his many other practical jokes there is not room here to speak. How he induced a spruce young Kentuckian to hold on to a log chain and allow himself to be drawn by a yoke of cattle through one of the deepest muddiest ponds in the Grand river bottom; how he sold to a verdant Kansas City sportsman a worthless cur dog for $20 by representing that the animal was a well trained and most valuable "all-purpose dog;" how he got a minister of the Gospel as drunk as sailor, can only be mentioned.

His epigrams, odd but trite expressions, pithy sentences, and humorous sayings are even yet quoted. A candidate for a local office, he addressed his constituency in a grandiloquent speech informing them that though he had then attained to distinction ( ?) he had seen

worse days. "I was born and reared in poverty, gentlemen," he said. "I went bare-footed till I was of age, and I wore no other garment than a tow linen shirt until my arm was as big as an ear of corn!" Mr. Thompson died some years after the war. He was a member of the Livingston county company in the Mexican War, and was a good soldier, and really a worthy citizen.


During the Civil War Jackson township was the scene of more thrilling adventures and exciting and dangerous episodes than any other township in North Missouri. The complete war history of the township would fill a fair sized volume. It was here that Gen. Slack's troops rendezvoused preparatory to their departure for the army of Gen. Price. The township was largely Southern in sentiment, but the Union men were stanch and brave.

In the fall of 1861 Hon. William F. Peery, an early settler of the township, a leading Democratic politician, and who a few years before had been elected State Senator, took out a considerable company of Confederate recruits from the forks. He passed through Chillicothe, where his men supplied themselves with certain articles they needed, and then went on into Carroll county. Here, at Perry Todd's barn, the company had a skirmish with a small Federal force under Capt. W. R. Love, of Linn county. In the fall of 1864, while on his way back into this county with Lieut. Monroe Williams and two others, Maj. Peery was killed by some Carroll county militia; Lieut. Williams was also killed. The major was commonly known as "Black Bill Peery."

In 1862 all Jackson township was in a state of war. Joe Kirk and his men were afield, and the Federals who entered the township had to be circumspect and wary. The Union men of the township armed themselves, and for weeks at a time both sides slept "with one eye open." Hardly a day passed without a skirmish. There was a great deal of bushwhacking. Men were shot at in the fields, on the highways and even at home.

The exploits and hair-breadth escapes of the partisans of both sides - of Joe Kirk, John Blackburn, Jim Rider, Bill Darr, Jim Nave, Dave Martin, Tom Crews, Henderson Wilborn and other prominent spirits on the Southern side, and of Lieut. Lemuel Hargrave, Marion Hicks, W. C. Wood, Newt. Hicks and other Union men of the militia were numerous and highly perilous.

On one occasion in the winter Henderson Wilborn was chased by the Federal militia to West Grand river. The ground was covered with a thick sleet and was an icy sheet, while the river was swollen and running with floating ice. The house where Wilborn lay sleeping was surrounded by the militia, but he ran out and tumbled and rolled down a hill into the brush where his horse was hitched. Reaching Grand river, with his pursuers at his heels, he dismounted and leaping from one cake of ice to another (after the manner of "Eliza," the heroine of "Uncle Tom's Cabin"), he crossed the raging flood and climbed the opposite bank in safety, though the bullets of the militia were striking all about him.

How many times the Hicks boys, I. B. Weaver, Hargrave and other Union men were chased by the rebel partisans and narrowly escaped with their lives can not be enumerated. The reliable Union men, such as Esq. Moss, James Hicks, Styles, Stout, Dennis, Bevell and Lewis Clark, had their horses and other property taken from them, and some of them had their houses fired into. It is remarkable that in all of these hazardous experiences so few lives were lost.


But notwithstanding the many causes for long existing feuds which occurred during the days of strife, after the war was over the people generally, of both sides, accepted the situation, "buried the hatchet" and agreed to let by-gones be by-gones. Side by side dwell in peace and concord, the ex-Confederate and the ex-Federal, with their backs to the past and their faces to the future. There have been no political quarrels, but on the contrary there have been new political affiliations. A few years since Capt. Joe Kirk, the old rebel Rob Roy, was the candidate for a county office of the Republicans, and was as ardently supported by many of the old militiamen whom he had often fought as if he had been born and bred in Massachusetts and his name Jim Blaine. For Kirk himself long ago shut his eyes to dead issues, and closed his ears to the appeals of those who argue of ideas old and obsolete.

Many an old Confederate is now a Republican; many, very many, old Federals are stalwart Democrats, and there is no inconsistency in the matter. It is this sensible view that obtains in old Jackson which, though Democratic to the core, and the core sound, tolerates without hindrance or restraint Republicans, Greenbackers, Prohibitionists, and even Belva Lockwood men!

The improvement and development of the country, the bettering of their condition generally, the maintenance of schools and churches, the common ground and the general welfare - these matters for years have engaged the attention of the people of Jackson township. The people are as hospitable, as generous and as worthy generally as were their ancestors, or those who first settled the township.


Jesse Nave is considered the founder of Spring Hill. He settled here, and in 1836 opened a small store. Not long afterwards a post office was established and called Navestown, by which name the locality was long known. Sometimes parties addressed their letters to "Knave's Town," and this misspelling, with its unpleasant suggestion, would anger Uncle Jesse, who was postmaster. It is said that these annoying mistakes were so frequent as to cause him to petition the department for a change in the name to Spring Hill. The hill on which the town is situated had a number of springs at its base, and was called "the spring hill" at a very early date.

Spring Hill was regularly laid out and named in April, 1848, "on the northeast quarter of section 6, township 58, range 24." The plat is at an angle from a north and south line of 38 degrees. Before this, however, there had been stores and shops, and at one time a horse mill.

From 1850 to about 1859 Spring Hill was a place of considerable importance. At one time it was considered a better town than Chillicothe. It was indeed a good trading point. There were excellent stores, a tannery, a considerable pork-packing establishment, and a complement of shops. In the spring of 1851 the Methodist church was built. Of this church the eminent divine, Dr. John D. Vincil, now at St. Louis, was pastor in 1858, and rode this circuit here for a year or more.

The building of the Hannibal Railroad, which gave new life and prosperity to Chillicothe and Utica, greatly injured Spring Hill, and the Civil War, which came two years later, well nigh destroyed it. Since the war business has revived somewhat, but the prospects for the enlargement of the town are not brilliant.

During the war, in 1863, Capt. Barnes' company of militia was stationed here and built a sort of block house and stockade combined which they called "Fort Lumpkin." Here the militia, nearly all of whom were from Jackson township, were quartered for a time under the command of Lieuts. Gibbs and Hargrave.

At the time of Poindexter's raid the town was visited by both parties - by the Confederates first, and by their pursuers the following day. The latter took dinner and supper in the town, furnishing their own provisions and dividing their "store coffee" with some of the citizens. Their conduct was very commendable, and often commented upon, even by the citizens of strong Confederate proclivities.

It was perhaps in 1859 when John Stewart, a merchant of Spring Hill, was shot and mortally wounded by a Mrs. Barlow, who lived in the village. Stewart was approaching the house of the woman for an improper purpose, and as he did not heed her warning to halt, she fired upon him with fatal elect. Though Mrs. Barlow was acquitted of all blame, it has often been alleged that the killing was the result of a plot. On his dying bed Stewart declared that he had often visited the woman's house and been welcomed, and that when she threatened him on the last occasion he thought she was not in earnest. Many persons believed that the woman was employed to kill Stewart by certain of his enemies.


Lilly Grove Christian Church.- The well known Lilly Grove Church stands on the southeast corner of section 15 - 59 - 25, about two miles southeast of Muddy Lane post-office. It is a frame, and was built in the year 1858, at a cost of $1,100. Mr. John W. Boyle furnished the greater portion of the inside work, and has since re-roofed it at his own expense. The church organization was effected in 1858, with about 50 members. Present membership, 75. The pastors who have ministered to the organization since its existence have been Revs. Thomas Thompson, I. S. Allen, George Flint, Wm. Herriman, W. B. A. Carter, M. Peterson, J. D. Willmot, B. Lockhart, E G. Duncan, C. A. Hedrick, W. D. Jordan, Jacob Creath, D. T. Bisset, Ben. Matchett, W. S. Trader, W. T. Parker, R. M. Messick.

Bethel Church, M. E. South.- Some of the first members of this organization were J. B. Francis, A. Ramsey, Robt. Landerdale, Andrew Anderson, John A. Davidson, Wm. Rains, E. M. Ware, Wm. Kennedy, J. S. Frith, John Hurshey, and their wives; there were 48 members in all. The church building stands on the se. 1/4, section 10 - 59 - 25; it is a frame and was built in 1872 at a cost of $1,300. The pastors have been Revs. S. W. Cope, J. Y. Blakey, D. Penny, J. A. Hider, J. W. Peery, S. S. Hardin, A. S. Doke, W. Sorter, B. F. Stilwell, J. B. Hunt, and -- Dameron. There are 25 names now on the roll of members. The number of scholars in the Sabbath-school is 40; the superintendent is J. F. Anderson. The church organization was constituted in 1867.


The township of Sampsel was organized out of Jackson July 22, 1874, on petition of Joseph Clark and others. It embraced what had been the southwest portion of Jackson, or township 58-25, and the northeast corner of 57-25, and this is its present area. It was named for the town of Sampsel.

Although there is a great deal of bottom land in the township there are many fine farms, and an intelligent, enterprising people. The township contains three churches and as many school-houses. The Wabash Railroad runs through in a general direction from southeast to northwest, and has a station here.


The town of Sampsel was laid out in July, 1871, on the land of John C. and Elizabeth Whitaker, Wm. and Emily J. Whitaker and James H. Britton, the latter of St. Louis. It was named for J. F. B. Sampsel, who was prominently connected with the old Chillicothe and Omaha Railroad Company. The building of the road caused the laying out of the town. The depot was built in 1871, since which time the station has made but little further progress.

Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church. - On May 10, 1873, this church was organized with the following members: Abraham Gann, Jane Gann, Agnes Boucher, Thomas Boucher, Sarah L. Clark, Edward Gibbons, Sarah Ewen, Jane Hughes, Martha Breeze, Isabella Hughes, John Hughes, Elizabeth Yates, A. J. Boucher, Elizabeth Boucher, John Boucher, Sarah Boucher and others. A frame church building was erected in 1877, which cost $900. The pastors that have served this church have been Peter Booth, Barton Robinson, F. M. Wadley, W. W. Walden and David Scott. There have been ten deaths in the church since its organization. The present membership is 38. The present number of Sabbath-school scholars is 50. Thomas Boucher is superintendent of the school. The church building stands on the ne. 1/4of section 21.



(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 14, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

The farm which Mr. Anderson now owns and cultivates upon the above named section is an excellent one over 250 acres in extent and so arranged as to be admirably adapted to the purposes of general farming and stock raising. While he is an agriculturist of advanced ideas and tendencies, he does not lose sight of the stock interests and in this industry he is gaining quite a local reputation. The improvements on his place are of a good order and kept in neat condition. Mr. Anderson was born on the 6th day of March, 1844, and is a native Missourian. However he is of Kentucky parentage, for both his father and mother came from the Blue Grass State to Missouri in 1841. Andy Anderson, the father, now a resident of Arkansas, has been twice married; December 8, 1842, in Grundy county, Mo., Miss Mary J. Bone became his wife, but she died April 20, 1855, leaving five children, of whom James F. was the eldest; Thomas S. was born March 20, 1850; Susan A. was born October 22, 1845, and died April 20, 1855; Joannnh E. was born May 3, 1848, and died April 17, 1855; and Addie E. was born August 10, 1853, and died April 20, 1855. Mr. A.'s second marriage was to Mrs. Catherine Ware, nee McHaney. James F. Anderson, after reaching manhood, made some two or three trips across the plains in 1865 occupied in freighting. April 9, 1867, he was united in marriage with Miss Letitia Crews, daughter of Joseph and Letitia Crews; the latter were formerly from Kentucky and relocated to this State in 1845, here rearing their family of 11 children: Eliza J., wife of John S. Venable; Mary A., Mrs. R. D. Thompson; William H. and six that died in infancy: Mary E., Joseph, Williamson, Elisabeth C. and two infants. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have had seven children: Williamson H., born February 4, 1868; Drury, born March 12, 1870; Mary C., born November 26, 1872; Edward F., born July 24, 1875; Joseph A., born February 1, 1878; Bessie B., born November 26, 1880, and Oran G., born October 21, 1883. Mr. Anderson and his estimable wife are members of the M. E. Church South.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Jamesport).

Among the old residents of this township who are accorded a worthy place in the respect of her citizens is Isaac Ashby, originally from the Blue Grass State, and a man now in his sixty-eighth year, his birth having occurred in Ohio county, January 11, 1819. His parents were Virginians by nativity, but early made their home in Kentucky, where they died. In their family were 10 children: Isaac, Rebecca, now Mrs. Warden Williams; Martha A., wife of A. G. Brown; Lucinda, wife of Robert Brown; Jared T., John R., William, Sanford R. and Edmund R. All of these were reared in their native State and all were taught the rudiments and later experience of farm labor, a calling in which the subject of this sketch seems to excel. The brothers, with the exception of Jared, are connected with the Masonic Order. Sanford R. Ashby was a resident of this county for several years, but annually he went to Texas and from there returned to Kentucky. It was on November 25, 1845, that Isaac Ashby was united in marriage with Miss Judith Anderson, daughter of Thomas and Anna Anderson, the former originally from Ireland and the latter of Virginia; they were both reared in Kentucky and in that State passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Ashby are the parents of two children: Nancy A., wife of John A. Mastries, and Emma C., now Mrs. Louis Rice. Mr. Ashby and wife are consistent upright members of the Baptist Church. It was in 1869 that he became located in this county and here he has since closely applied himself to farming and stock-raising, and with what success may be inferred from a glance at his present place. This contains 160 acres well improved and in good cultivation and nicely situated. Besides this he still possesses a 50-acre tract in the Blue Grass State. He is connected with Jamesport Lodge No. 201, of the A. F. and A. M.


(Farmer, Post-office, Spring Hill).

This honored and respected old resident of Jackson township is accorded a worthy place in this volume, for he is one of the oldest living residents of the county. His occupation during life has been that of a farmer, and he is now living in retirement on his place of 56 acres, surrounded by many comforts and all the necessities of life, enjoying the respect of those who know him. Born in Henderson county, Ky., September 11, 1801, be came to this State with his parents in 1819, locating near Boonville, Cooper county, from whence they soon went to Ray county, which at that time included Carroll, Livingston, Grundy, Mercer, Harrison, Davies and Caldwell counties. In 1833 he settled near the present site of Jameson, in Daviess county. In 1824 he was elected sheriff of the territory above mentioned, and during his term of office he took the census and was also assessor in 1826, 24 days being all the time necessary for him to do his work and make returns. September 6, 1825, Mr. Black was first married in Ray county to Miss Mary W. Morgan, the daughter of Ira and Abigail Morgan, by whom he had nine children: E. M., Jane, now Mrs. Preston Cadell; William C., Robert, Charles, Henry, Sarah A., wife of Jasper Seats, Anderson and Adam R. Mr. Black's second wife was formerly Margaret Grooms, but there was no issue of that marriage. October 15, 1857, his third marriage occurred to Miss Sallie Kelley, daughter of Edward Kelley, and there were three children born to them: George W., Selah and Shelby. Mr. Black's life has been one of varied experiences and changes. He was one of the first settlers of Daviess county, was justice of the peace there after its organization, and was county judge for four years. In 1844 he went to Gentry county, served as justice there some time and later was elected judge and filled the position four years. When Gentry county was divided it left him in the new county of Worth, and he was appointed by the Governor one of the commissioners to organize the county. In 1861, on account of his Southern proclivities, he left there and came to this county, which has since been his home. For three years he also served as one of the county judges here. For some time he was in the Black Hawk war. He has been an old line Whig, and even now at his age takes remarkable interest in political matters. Mr. Black's parents were natives of Virginia, but went to Kentucky in an early day. They had 11 children in their family.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 23, Post-office, Chillicothe).

The old settlers of Jackson township are no more worthily represented in the present work than by the subject of this sketch, who came here at a time when Indians were numerous and game of all kind abounded; his nearest market for supplies was at Lexington, and he has indeed lived to see this wilderness "bud and blossom like the rose." Mr. Brassfield has always been a farmer, the calling to which be was reared, and one that has offered him much profit. His birth occurred in Claiborne county, Tenn., February 12, 1814, his parents being James and Mary Brassfield, also of Tennessee nativity, both now deceased, the mother having died after her removal to Missouri. Seven children were in their family: Minter, Riley, Ansel, Elizabeth, Permelia, Charles and Aaron. Riley Brassfield, the subject of this sketch, first came to this State in 1833, taking up his location in Livingston county, but in 1837 he returned as far South as Kentucky, and the same year married Miss Rachel Trammel, daughter of Peter and Mary Trammel, also originally from Tennessee, both then of Kentucky. Subsequently Mr. Brassfield returned to this county and township and located on his present homestead, which embraces 300 acres of fine land, well improved and adorned with a commodious dwelling. Mr. Brassfield's marriage above referred to was consummated September 17, 1837, his wife being one of 11 children, whose names were Dennis, William, Nancy, Elizabeth, Milly Thomas, Mary, Rachel, Sallie, Archibald and Margret. Ten children born to Mr. and Mrs. Brassfield grew up to mature years: Laura J., born June 13, 1838, wife of F. M. Hughes; Mahala A., born September 10, 1839, now Mrs. J. B. Pond; Emily C., born September 23, 1841, married H. H. Turner, and is now deceased; G. M., born August 6, 1843; Mary M., born September 28, 1845, now Mrs. Joseph Irwin; Martha A., born November 23, 1847, wife of A. J. Bone; Zerilda E., born December, 1849, now Mrs. Richard Curtis; J. N., born June 25, 1852; Letitia, born July 14, 1855, married H. H. Purnes, and Rachel J., born April 12, 1862, is Mrs. George Ranbie. Mr. Brasfield and wife have been members of the Baptist Church for 50 years, and have always taken warm and devoted interest in the progress of their religion. They are ever ready to lend a helping hand, and in many instances their liberality has been shown. This portion of the county has been greatly aided by their influence and help.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Spring Hill).

The subject of this sketch, John W. Boyle, was born in Clark county, Ky., October 4, 1809, and to this day he retains in his nature the free-handed, open-hearted and warm hospitality and cordiality characteristic of all true Kentuckians. His parents came originally from Virginia, to the Blue Grass State in an early day, and they subsequently died in Missouri. Nine children were in their family: Elizabeth, Harriet, Patsy C., John W., Julia A., Stephen A., Amanda M., J. T. C. and Cynthia J. James Boyle, father of John W., was born in Old Virginia, as it was then called, August 12, 1776. His father, Stephen Boyle, moved from Virginia to Clark county, Ky., when the Indians were plentiful and savage, the country a perfect cane brake, and but few whites had ventured to penetrate the wilderness, as it were. He located two and a half miles west from Winchester and two miles from what was then called Strode's Station, where they retreated for protection when attacked by the savages. At this time he kept several hounds. One evening while the old Negro servant was milking, the hounds suddenly raved out and reached the servant just in time to save her from the grasp of the Indians, who had stolen up behind her to take her captive. It was the custom in those days for some to stand guard against the stealthy approach of the Indians while the others worked in the fields. James Boyle married the widow of John Boyle, whose maiden name was Jane Forman. He moved to Missouri when the Indians were numerous, settled in Linn county, where he died September 29, 1845, having been for many years a member of the Church of Christ. Jane Boyle, wife of James, was born August 14, 1780, on the road when her father, William Forman, was moving from Old Virginia to Bourbon county, Ky. He, Wm. Forman, settled one mile west of North Middletown, where the county was almost uninhabited save by the Aborigines. He died at a good old age, on the same farm, having been a faithful Methodist preacher. Jane Boyle, wife of James B., died in Livingston county, Mo., January 21, 1854, having lived a faithful member of' the church of Christ. Young John early had instilled into his youthful nature all the duties of farm life and this calling has ever continued to be his chosen field of labor. With care and perseverance he has attended to his adopted avocation, and with energy and thoroughness his successful results have been reaped, until now, past the age usually allotted to man, he is in possession of a competence fully sufficient to warrant him in passing the remainder of his days in peace and comfort. It was in 1839 that Mr. Boyle became permanently located in Livingston county, and here he has continued to be well known and highly regarded by the many who are favored with his acquaintance. His fine place embraces 383 acres well improved and in good cultivation. November 9, 1830, Mr. Boyle was manned to Miss Zerelda Barbee, who was born July 25, 1816, the daughter of Lewis and Kitty Barbee, of Bourbon county, Ky. The names of the 10 children born to them, with the dates of birth, are as follows: Kitty J., born August 31, 1837, has been an invalid for 41 years and has not walked since she was seven years old; Emarine A., born November 15, 1839, and now Mrs. J. P. Hutchinson; James L., born March 2, 1842; Ann Z., born September 7, 1849, wife of Howell Smith; Patsy R., born April 26, 1852, now Mrs. L. H. Christian; Lizzie O., born January 4, 1860, married to T. G. Phelps; Mary M., born May 19, 1844, married P. H. Lilly and died September 3, 1883; William S., born December 14, 1846, died December 29, 1872; Cynthia M., born June 1, 1854, died July 23, 1854; Joe Alice, born June 16, 1857, died July 8, 1859. Zerelda, wife of John W. Boyle, died April 9, 1883. Mrs. Boyle's parents were both of Kentucky nativity, her father dying September 6, 1835, at Lexington, Ky., and her mother some time previous. The former had been married three times, and had two children by the first wife, Zerelda and William, the latter dying when small. By the second marriage there were three children: J. J., S. P. and B. L. Barbee. Lee A. Barbee, the only child from the last marriage, died in infancy. Mr. Boyle, the subject of this sketch, is a warm and consistent member of the Christian Church, always being ready and willing to help in the cause of Him under whose banner he enlisted in 1828. His family are also connected with the same denomination. His father was a soldier in the War of 1812. His mother was twice married, first to John Boyle and afterwards to James Boyle, Harriet, Betsy and Patsy being the children resulting from the first union. One remarkable trait in the character of Mr. B. is his strong will, and an item bearing out this statement is seen in his discontinuing the use of tobacco in the fall of 1885, after a period of 70 years of constant use.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 8, Post-office, Chillicothe).

The subject of this sketch comes of a family well and favorably known throughout Livingston county, for his father has long been settled here, and in another portion of the present work mention is made of him in detail. He was born, as there stated, in Butler county, O., March 23, 1810, of Pennsylvania lineage, his wife's birth occurring in Wabash county, Ill., December 23, 1822. She was the great-granddaughter of Gen. Putnam, of Revolutionary fame, her maiden name being Lucinda Claypool. Their marriage was consummated in Lee county, Ia., and eight children were born to them, five reaching maturity: Hannah C., who married James E. Molton, now deceased; Columbus O., Loretta A., George W. and Mary C. George W. was born March 21, 1852, and though now comparatively young in years, he has reached a position in agricultural matters which others older in years and experience might well desire. He has taken a great interest in sheep culture, in connection with other stock, and has become well versed in that branch of farm life. His home is an attractive place, just such one as he would be expected to own, neat, comfortable and well improved. Indeed, the improvements upon the place are above the average and are kept in good condition. One feature of this farm is the splendid orchard which is found upon it. Mr. Dennis' parents now reside in Chillicothe.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

It is a remarked fact that those men of Kentucky birth and antecedents in this county all seem to have peculiarly successful results in their farming operations, and Mr. Dockery is but another example of this truth. His parents were both Kentuckians by birth and in 1838 took up their location in Missouri, the father subsequently dying here, but the mother still survives and makes her home in Livingston county. Twelve children constituted their family, as follows: Alexander, Robert, Elizabeth, William, George W., John, Milton, James, Nancy, now deceased, as is also Burrell, Paulina D. and Sciotha D. Alexander, the eldest of these, and the subject of this sketch, was born January 26, 1829, in Kentucky, and consequently was only about nine years old when brought to this State by his parents. Since that time he has experienced many noticeable changes throughout the country. Brought up as a farmer's boy, he has ever devoted himself to that calling, and with a perseverance in industry which could not fail of favorable results. After reaching manhood he was married January 27, 1850, to Miss Mahala A. Dockery, the daughter of Alexander and Nancy Dockery, also of Kentucky nativity, who came to Chariton county, Mo., in 1829, and to Livingston county in 1834. Mrs. D. was one of the native-born persons of the State and herself one of four children: Willis, Paulina, wife of Gideon Embry, and Sarah E., now Mrs. John A. Davidson. Her father was a pioneer in this county and saw much of the privations and hardships of pioneer life. He was a participant in the Mormon and Heatherly wars. Could space but permit much of interest might be written in this connection of the condition of the country at that time. Wild beasts and game of all kinds abounded and the dreaded Indian often manifested his presence by petty depredations. One of Mrs. Dockery's brothers, Willis, is now prominent minister in the Methodist Episcopal Church South and at this time is a resident of the county. Mr. D. and wife have the parents of one child, Nancy E., born November 21, 1850, wife of John Wooldridge. Mr. and Mrs. Wooldridge have one daughter, Allie Mabel, who contributes not a little towards the sunshine and happiness of her grandparents' home. Mr. Dockery is actively engaged in farming and stock-raising, his place containing 100 acres of splendid land, mid all under good cultivation. He is a large stock holder in three different banks. He is a consistent member of the Baptist Church.


(Farmer and Stock-aiser, Section 15, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

Mr. Francis has been a resident of Livingston county the greater portion of his little, or for a period of something like 43 years. During this time he has been actively and successfully engaged in tilling the soil, the occupation to which he was reared, and has done much to promote the agricultural interests of the community. A life-long experience in the business has rendered him well acquainted with every detail connected with it. His present estate embraces 360 acres, and all of this is in good cultivation. Mr. Francis was born October 23, 1830, in Wayne county, Ky., and in 1832 was brought to this State, a location being made in Miller county. After going to Platte county and living there some time he came to this county in 1843 with his parents, Elisha and Theresa (Huff) Francis, also originally from the Blue Grass State. In their family tree six children: John, Rachel, now Mrs. Whitehead; James B., Daniel, William and Nancy, wife of William Hamilton. Young James passed his boyhood days like most of the youths of this vicinity and after reaching mature years he married November 16, 1854, Miss Mary J. Williams, one of 12 children of John B. and Mary Williams, Virginians by birth, who died to this county in 1844. The names of these children were George E., Margaret, Mrs. James Kirk; John H., Martha, wife of R. P. Peniston; Charles, Nancy, wife of William Lumpkins; Mary J. and Victoria, who married L. F. Thompson; John W., Lena, Mrs. James Frith, deceased; Daniel H. and Ira T. Eight children have been given to Mr. Francis and wife: John, born March 27, 1856; Daniel, born May 6, 1859; Eliza, born May 27, 1861, the wife of John Peniston; Louis, born November 13, 1863; Dick, born December 20, 1865; Joseph, born April 20, 1868; Martha A., born October 6, 1857, died November 29, 1858, and Alva C., born March 16, 1878, died February 27, 1879. Mr. Francis and his wife are connected with the M. E. Church South. He also belongs to Spring Hill Lodge No. 155, A. E. and A. M. The duties of various official positions have from time to time been discharged by him in a manner highly satisfactory, and at present he is postmaster at Muddy Lane. Among other things he is now township collector of Jackson township. His stock, of which he makes something of a specialty, is of good grades, and indeed his place is one of the better ones of the community.


(Farmer and Stock-dealer, Post-office, Spring Hill).

This representative, substantial citizen of Jackson township was born May 3, 1826, in Whitley county, Ky., being one of 13 children which blessed the union of his parents, David and Elizabeth Girdner, formerly a Miss Penman. The names of the others were Mary, now Mrs. White:, Nancy, wife of Pleas. Blakely; Granberry, Michael, deceased; Charles G., Mahala, wife of Thomas Yves; Joseph, James M., Elizabeth, who married Sam Darr; Elijah, Samuel and Elizabeth A., the last three named also being deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Girdner were both natives of Pennsylvania and upon leaving there went to Greene county, then, going thence to Kentucky in an early day. In 1834 they came with their family to this county and continued to make their home here until their deaths, the father dying January 31, 1864, and the mother in November, 1862. David Girdner was a soldier in the War of 1812 and was drum major of his regiment. David, the subject of this sketch, was raised upon a farm and has always devoted himself to this occupation. Having come here at the time he did he saw much of pioneer life and has witnessed a great change in the affairs of the county since that time. Then Indians were numerous in the county and wild beasts were at home here. Neither schools nor mills were here and many hardships were undergone by those brave enough to undertake for themselves a home in the wilderness. Young Girdner's educational advantages were limited but this has not deterred him from being successful in a material point of view. He now owns 1,035 acres of good land and is giving considerable attention to the stock business, in which he is well versed. Mr. G.'s wife was formerly Miss Martha, daughter, of Jonathan and Martha Smith, who were themselves the parents of five children besides Martha; Saphronia, now Mrs. Louis Clark; Rebecca, wife of Charles Girdner; William, Sarah, who married William Webster; and Jemima, who died when small. Six children have been born of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Girdner; Michael P., born February 3, 1860; Jonathan C., born July 22, 1861; Sarah K., born October 30, 1863, now Mrs. Thomas Wingo; Louis M., born July 13, 1865; William M., born September 21, 1867; and Jemima, born December 20, 1870.


(Farmer, Section 7, Post-office, Chillicothe).

The subject of this sketch has contributed more than an average lifetime of honest toil to the upbringing and prosperity of this county and is one of those who,

"When the shroud shall wrap them fast,
And the sleep be on them cast
That shall ne'er know waking "-

will have left worthy families of children to carry forward their work.

Born in Jefferson county, Tenn., July 26, 1808, he became located in Missouri, in Saline county, at an early day, and in about 1835 he settled in this county, which has since been his home, a period now of over 50 years. Mr. Hargrave's parents were John and Hannah (Harrison) Hargrave, Virginians by birth; the latter died in Tennessee. The father was in the War of 1812 and also with "Old Hickory " Jackson in early Indian Wars. He was a pioneer to this State and afterwards participated in the Black Hawk and Mormon Wars. Benjamin was one of eight children, the others being Polly, James, William, Jane, Sarah, Susan, Nancy. John Hargrave was subsequently married to Miss Martha Hamilton, who bore him four children: Frederick, Thomas, Alexander and Jesse. By his third marriage, to Miss Phebe Tucker, he had four children: Lemuel, Elizabeth, Verlina and Rachel. During life he was very successful in following farming. Mr. Benjamin Hargrave has also been twice married. First, to Miss Tobitha Nave, one of eleven children of Jacob and Elizabeth Nave. The nannies of her brothers and sisters were Jesse, Rebecca, John, William, Elizabeth, Nancy, Jackson, George, Mary and James. Mr. and Mrs. H. had four children: Elizabeth, Isabel, John and Tobitha. Miss Eliza J. Bevell, daughter of Joshua and Frances Bevell, became his second wife, and of this union eight children were born: William T., Jesse B. and James L. are deceased, and Frederick J., Francis P., Hannah, George and Sarah A. are living. Mrs. Hargrave has six brothers: William L., John K., James M., Harry J., Burel J. and Ben T. Mr. Hargrave now has a farm of 44 acres in good cultivation. He was one of the first grand jurors in the county, court being held in Joseph Cox's barn, presided over by Judge James Clark. He also took part in the Black Hawk and Indian Wars. He has long been a consistent member of the Baptist Church, and wherever known his irreproachable character is highly honored.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 10, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

The name that heads this sketch is that of one of the well known residents of Jackson township. Like Mary other settlers in the county he came originally from Casey county, Ky., where he was born July 4, 1833, subsequently accompanying his parents to Missouri in 1851. Both his father and mother, Jeremiah and Emily Hutchinson, were Kentuckians by birth, and in their family there were six children: Lucy J., John P., Amanda, now Mrs. William Marlow; Isabel, wife of George W. Shrader; Lucy died in 1852, Susan in March, 1855, and Wyett in infancy. John P. Hutchison grew up principally in the vicinity of his birthplace, and since his settlement in this county he has given his attention largely to agricultural pursuits and the raising of stock, his excellent farm being especially fitted for a superior stock farm. This embraces 320 acres and the improvements upon it are deserving of especial mention. His fine house, barns, out-buildings, etc., are neat and convenient and all that could be desired. Mr. Hutchison was married April 24, 1856, to Miss Emarine Boyle, whose parents, John W. and Zerelda Boyle, were both of Kentucky nativity. The following children constituted their family: Kitty, Emarine, J. L., Ann, wife of Howell Smith; Patsy, now Mrs. L. H. Christison, and Lizzie, wife of Thomas Phelps, are living; and William and Mary, the latter Mrs. P. H. Lilly, are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. H. have ten children: Lucy, born April 16, 1857, now Mrs. Barton Hosman; Kate, born August 21, 1859, wife of James Massengill: James L., born March 13, 1862, and married to a daughter of Dr. F. M. Davis; Emma, born March 22, 1864; Zerelda, born n May 19, 1869; Gertie, born December 12, 1872; Lodusca, born August 26, 1875; Jeremiah, born June 13, 1878; John Frank, born December 29, 1881, and Mary, born April 17, 1867, died July 3, 1882. Mr. Hutchison and wife are both members of the Christian Church. The former belongs to Jamesport Lodge No. 201, A. F. and A. M. In 1865 his father moved to Nebraska, where his wife afterwards died, February 15, 1885. Mrs. His father still resides in this county. Her mother's death occurred April 9, 1883.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 9, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

In an early day of the county's history there was one man among others in the community closely identified with its interests in an official capacity, Judge Thomas Hutchison, the father of the subject of this sketch, and who is still a resident of Jackson township, one of the honored, highly esteemed citizens of the county. He is now in his eighty-seventh year, having been born February 26, 1800, in the Blue Grass State, and after arriving at maturity he was united in marriage with Miss Mary Tate, originally from the same State as himself. She departed this life January 20, 1875. Jeremiah was one of a family of 9 children, the names of the others being: John, Lucy J., Mrs. John M. Brown; William, Eliza J., wife of E. D. Deupree; Mary, Mrs. Alexander Black; Thomas, George W. and Charles M. He was reared for the most part to a farm experience, and having come to Missouri with his parents when but about six years old was brought up in this county. Another birth occurred in Casey county, Ky., February 7, 1836. He continued to remain occupied with the duties of farm life until the call for troops to suppress invasion was made. Then enlisting in the C. S. A. under Geo. Slack, he became a lieutenant in Co. B, 3d regiment of Missouri (Col. Coffey commanding), and took part in many severe engagements throughout the State. From 1862 to 1865 he was with Gen. Jo. Shelby and upon surrendering at Shreveport, La., he returned home, resting in the full assurance of having done what he considered to be right. His career as a soldier while perhaps not as varied as that of others was one of denial and hardships. November 13, 1868, he took unto himself a wife in the person of Miss Mary J. Williams, daughter of R. C. and Ellen Williams. this union has been blessed with two children: William C., born November 13, 1869, and Eva, born May 21, 1873. It has long been a conceded fact that Mr. H. is one of the most enterprising and prominent farmers in this township. Everything about his place indicates energy and thorough knowledge of his calling and all his operations are carried on in a manner above criticism. Mrs. H.'s sisters were four in number: Rebecca A., now Mrs. Tiffany Sandridge; Elizabeth, wife of W. C. Collison; Nancy C., who married James Black, and Missouri, now Mrs. James Wymer.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

All his life Mr. Kesler has followed with substantial success the occupation to which he was reared and in which he is now engaged - farming. One of the largest land owners in Jackson township, he is also one of its recognized leading agriculturists, and as a man, no less than as a citizen, he is highly esteemed. His birth occurred February 23, 1836, in Laport county, Ind., but when three years old, or in June, 1839, he was brought by his parents (who where Virginians by birth) to this State, and here he was brought up. Very naturally perhaps he adapted himself to agricultural pursuits, for to that calling his father gave his attention; the latter was called away from this earth in 1868 and his widow died March, 1875. Four children were in their family beside Daniel. Their names are Joel, a resident of California; Elizabeth, now Mrs. Joseph Papaw, John, of this county; and Ida, wife of Martin V. Piper. January 19, 1869, the subject of this sketch was married, Miss Sarah A., daughter of John and Alcinda Faulk, becoming his wife. Her parents were natives of Ohio but settled in this county in an early day, rearing a family of nine children: William, John, Sallie, Strander, Patrick, Elijah, George C., Alvin and Alcinda. The four children born of this union are Edwin A., born December 1, 1869; Ida M., born March 10, 1873; John F., born December 26, 1875, and William D., born August 20, 1883. Mr. Kesler had but a small amount of means when he commenced in life for himself and his present possessions are the result of his own labor. In 1859 he took a trip to Pike's Peak, returning the same year, and in 1863 he again went to that locality and while on his way home in November, 1864, he was attacked by Indians, lost his team and barely escaped with his life; he received a wound and receiving no medical attention became crippled in his right arm, the effects of which are still apparent.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

A superior farm extending over 800 acres, with improvements above the average, good barn, commodious, comfortable residence and neat, necessary out buildings - such is the homestead of John R. Kesler, the representative of a family who have become closely identified with the agricultural interests of Livingston county. His place is doubtless unsurpassed in point of location in this township, for situated in the midst of a fine prairie, an excellent view of the surrounding country can be had. And Mr. Kesler thoroughly understands the management and control of this place, for farming has been his only occupation during life. In the sketch of his brother, Daniel Kesler, which immediately precedes this an account is briefly given of his parents and their family, Daniel and Elizabeth (Crumpacker) Kesler; it will be unnecessary therefore to repeat what has already been said. John R., the second son and third child of the five children, was born in the Old Dominion August 30, 1833, coming to Missouri in 1839, though for a short time before this he had lived in Indiana. Consequently by bringing up he may well be considered a Missourian. After reaching manhood he was married to Miss Mary A. Rose, December 12, 1867, the youngest of two children of Dr. Joseph and Mary Rose, of Kentucky nativity, but who settled in this county in a pioneer day. The former was for a long time a prominent physician, following his practice in connection with farming. He still resides in this county. Mrs. Kesler's only sister is Catherine, now Mrs. Joseph Lilly. Two children have been given to Mr. Kesler and wife, Joseph H., born September 1, 1869, and Minnie B., born September 16, 1877. In all his operations Mr. K., is meeting with substantial evidence of success, results which all concede that he deserves.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Spring Hill).

Mr. Lauderdale has been a resident of Livingston county for nearly fifty years, and has been closely and usefully identified with its history throughout all this period of time. He was born in Greene county, Tenn., June 18, 1824. His father, John Lauderdale, was a native of Tennessee and a soldier in the War of 1812. The maiden name of his mother was Hannah Sharp, a native of North Carolina. Both parents having died when Robert was young he commenced the battle of life alone and without a dollar. November 18, 1837, he came to Livingston county, Mo., and found employment as a day laborer and as a farm hand by the month, the best hands at the time receiving fifty cents per day, and the regular price for splitting rails was fifty cents per hundred. In 1838 Mr. Lauderdale enlisted in the Mormon War and served one month and fifteen days. He was in the company of Capt. William O. Jennings, whose father, Col. Thomas Jennings, had command of the forces from this county. After entering the service there was a force sent to DeWitt, in Carroll county, for a cannon, which they secured, and on their return to Livingston county captured two prisoners named Lyman and Dunn, whom they brought with them, but afterwards released .They saluted Chillicothe, loading the cannon with old iron, and then went to the west part of the county near where Marcus White lived and there buried the cannon in the road, but Capt. " Fear Not," one of the "Danites," with a body of Mormons came and took the cannon, which had become exposed by hogs rooting up the earth, and captured nine prisoners, whom they paroled on their oath not to take up arms against them. After this a move was made on Haun's mill. Three companies were brought into action and arrayed in line of battle. Capt. William O. Jennings occupied the center, Capt. Comstock the left and Capt. William Gee the right. They were on horseback and marched within one hundred yards of the enemy, who were secreted so that they could not be seen. Orders were given for them to charge, but it was quickly countermanded and the order given for them to dismount, which was quickly obeyed, and they were commanded to charge. The enemy were concealed in houses and behind plank, and everything utilized to protect them. Capt. Comstock fired the first gun and ordered his men to follow. Capt. Jennings gave the same order to his men, and Capt. Gee's men were on the move, and the battle was opened in earnest. There were 18 men secreted in a blacksmith shop. A hair-lipped soldier from Carroll county, named Ira Glaze, pushed the muzzles of the guns aside as they were shoved through the cracks of the building, remarking at the same time that he did not fear their lead, but did not want to be powder burned.

After the firing opened the enemy commenced falling back and retreated across the creek. Seventeen out of the 18 in the black-smith shop were killed; two small boys were killed by accident while running from one house to another, orders having been given not to shoot the boys. After the battle the wounded were cared for and all recovered. Some of those participating went to Far West to witness the surrender and others to "Adam-on-Diamond." After the close of this campaign Mr. Lauderdale returned and found employment by the month or at day's work; for ten years, and at the expiration of this time he was $36 in debt. June 23, 1847, he married Miss Cynthia J. Boyle, who was born in Bourbon county, Ky., December 25, 1822, and the daughter of James and Jane Boyle, natives of Bourbon county, Ky. They were early settlers of Linn county, Mo., and there the father died. The mother came to Livingston county and lived here with her children until her death. Mr. and Mrs. Lauderdale have five children: Elizabeth E., born April 28, 1849, now Mrs. E. M. Ware; Robert V., born November 21, 1859, in the hardware trade in Chillicothe, and Lee L., born October 26, 1863; two sons, Henry, B. and Horace G., are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Lauderdale's commencement in life was in marked contrast to their present comfortable surroundings. At that time their cooking utensils consisted of a skillet, an oven and one pot, and all the furniture they had was homemade, and for harness they used hickory bark for lines and traces, and hickory bark lap rings. He had no wagon, and when too far away to carry rails he had a sled on which to draw them, and in this way he made his start. He is now the owner of 1,400 acres of land and one of the large taxpayers of this county. His land is situated in sections 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 19 of township 59, range 14. His home place is well improved and he is one of the most active and busy men in the county and thoroughly reliable. He is a member of the A. F. and A. M. and he and Mrs. L. have belonged to the M. E. Church South for many years. They are very hospitable and people whom to know is to respect.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 10, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

Mr. Marlow is now successfully following the occupation to which he was reared and which has been his life work, a calling that has for ages received undivided efforts from many worthy individuals, and one that always furnishes sustenance to the ready worker. He was born in Wayne county, Ky., October 12, 1831, his parents having been natives of Georgia. In an early day they went to the Blue Grass State, and about 1832 came to Missouri, locating first in Cole county, from whence some time after they removed to Platte county. In 1854 this county seemed to have sufficient attraction for them to make a settlement within its boundaries, and since that time Mr. Marlow has resided here. His mother died in Cole county in 1836, and in 1854, while on a trip to Oregon, the father also died, leaving six children: James L., P. M., D. M., William H., Thursey, and Absalom. William H. Marlow, the subject of this sketch, is one of the largest and most enterprising agriculturists in Jackson township and the excellent estate which he owns is managed in such a manner as indicates at glance the abode of an enterprising, thorough and reliable citizen. Included in his property are 613 acres of beautiful land, well adapted to the raising of stock, of which he makes quite a specialty, his barns, residence, out buildings, etc., denoting taste and convenience. An abundance of everything is found here and want is not known. Mr. Marion is a Mexican veteran, for in 1846, when but a boy, he entered the United States army as a soldier and participated in Gen. Doniphan's campaign in the Mexican War. In 1850 he went to California and after the expiration of three years returned to this county, giving his attention to farming until his enlistment in 1861 in Gen. Slack's division of the C. S. A. On account of his disability he was finally discharged, after having taken part in the battles of Wilson Creek, Carthage, etc. On the 10th of January, 1856, Mr. Marlow was married to Miss Amanda Hutchison, daughter of Jeremiah and Emily Hutchison, who came originally from Casey county, Ky., to Missouri in 1854. Their family numbered six children: Lucy J., now deceased; John P., Susan, Thomas, deceased; Wyett, deceased; and Isabel, wife of George Schrader. Mr. and Mrs. Marlow have three children: Louis C., born January 19, 1857; Lucy B., born March 6, 1859, and Benjamin P., born August 7, 1861. Mr. M. is a member of the Masonic Order, belonging to Spring Hill No. 155. For one term he held the position of collector of this township.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Chillicothe).

The same peculiarities which seem to distinguish others of German parentage and nativity from those American-born are noticeable in the career of Mr. Mast since his settlement in this county - industry, hard application to his chosen calling, economy and perseverance. An intelligent application of these principles have resulted in giving him an excellent estate of 197 acres, which he is now improving and cultivating to good advantage. Born September 20, 1843, in Tumlingen, Wittenberg, Germany, he was the son of Mathias and Elizabeth Mast, both also natives of that country, where, too, their marriage had occurred. In 1854 they emigrated to America, locating in Muskingum county, O., where the father now resides. During his lifetime he has given his attention to tilling the soil, and in this he has been by no means unsuccessful. Five children besides the subject of this sketch were in his parents' family: John, Christina, Catharine, now Mrs. John Dicky; Mathias and Mary, all of whom, save John, make their home in Ohio. George H. Mast was quite young when brought to this country, and after settling in Ohio he was taught, the rudiments of farm life, becoming still better acquainted with that calling as he grew up. In the fall of 1872 he came to Livingston county, and has continued to devote himself to agricultural pursuits. January 16, 1865, his marriage to Miss Melinda Ikhorn was consummated, she being a daughter of Frederick Ikhorn. She was also born in Germany, and in 1853 became a resident of Ohio, where her parents are still located. In their family were five other children: Charles, Pristina, now Mrs. George McGlade; Frederick, Amelia, wife of George Hartsanh, and Augustus. Mr. and Mrs. Mast have been blessed with 11 children: Mary C., born December 18, 1866; Katie A., born December 28, 1867; John M., born March 24, 1869; George F., born October 24, 1870; Charles F., born December 7, 1872; Rossi E., born January 18, 1876; Harvey J., born December 21,1878; Wilfred S., born August 23, 1880; Ira D., born January 8, 1883; Malinda, born December 25, 1885, and Rose E., born April 14, 1872, died September 24, 1872. Mr. Mast belongs to Spring Hill Lodge No. 155, A. F. and A. M.


(Farmer, Stock-raiser, Feeder and Dealer, Section 18, Post-office, Jamesport).

Of that sturdy and independent class, the farmers and stock men of Missouri, there are none who possess more genuine merit or stronger character than he whose name stands at the head of this sketch. One of the best known and highly respected citizens of the county, and particularly of the vicinity where for so many years he made his home, was his father, William F. Peery, and it is but proper that an outline, at least, of his life should appear in this connection. William F. Peery was a Virginian by birth, and about 1819 or 1820 he removed to Missouri, settling in Howard county, where he remained until coming to this county in 1839. Some time before, on November 22, 1838, he had married Miss Margaret J. Hutchison, daughter of John Hutchison, and of the six children resulting from this union only John H. survives. The names of those deceased were Thomas, Mary J., Mrs. J. M. Stapp; James E., Elizabeth C. and Eliza A., wife of K. C. White. After his first wife's death Mr. P. was again married, April 12, 1855, to Miss Susan E. Monroe, who bore him four children: Margaret, Benjamin F., Sarah C. and William M. All died when small but Margaret, who became the wife of C. C. Curren, and has since departed this life. Mr. Peery was a prominent man in his day and in political affairs wielded no slight influence. For two terms he was the representative of the county in the State Legislature, and subsequently he served as State Senator. At the breaking out of the late war he enlisted under Gen. Slack in the C. S. A., was made paymaster, and also held a commission as colonel. While recruiting for soldiers to join the army he was surprised while sleeping and brutally murdered - another to lay down his life upon the altar of his convictions. John H. Peery is one of the native born citizens of this county, his birth having occurred here October 29, 1841. He continued to follow farming up to 1861, when he, too, cast his fortunes with the Southern Confederacy and remained in service until the cessation of hostilities, taking part in many engagements, among others those of Carthage, Wilson Creek, Lexington, Pea Ridge, and after being transferred to the Mississippi Department he took part in Gen. J. E. Johnston's campaign, and with Hood until the close of the war. Twice was he prisoner, but both times he was exchanged. Since returning from the army Mr. Peery has closely adhered to farming, and the results of his efforts are now seen in the beautiful place which he owns. Five hundred and sixty acres are included in it, upon which is a fine house, as well as excellent convenient outbuildings, barn, etc. Mr. P.'s first marriage was to Miss Elizabeth C. Cruse, daughter of Joseph and Artimitia Cruse. The names of the five children given them were Stella M., born September 13, 1871; Fannie, born July 30, 1873; Mary M., born October 30, 1875; William F., born June 15, 1878, and Gracie G., born July 30, 1880. Mrs. Peery died October 19, 1883, and afterwards Mr. P. married Florence H. Peery, whose parents were Dr. Archie and Elizabeth A. Peery, of Grundy county. She was one of eight children: Horace, Fielding, Nash A., Trusten P., Mary C., Arch., William and John. Mr. Peery is a member of Jamesport Lodge No. 201, A. F. and A. M., at Jamesport.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 36, Post-office, Spring Hill).

This respected resident of Jackson township, now above the age usually allotted to man - three score years and ten, owes his nativity to Jessamine county, Ky., where he was born December 27, 1813. Robert Peniston, his father, a Virginian by birth and by occupation a farmer, came to Missouri as early as 1832 and located in Daviess county, where he made his home until his death in 1861. To himself and wife, formerly Miss Nancy Nuttle (who was a native of Maryland and died in 1851), eight children were born, three of whom survive: Theodore, Robert P. and Susan, now Mrs. John K. Kerr. The others were William, Francis, Thomas, Eliza, Anthony and Martha, who married William Zook. Robert P. was brought up in the Blue Grass State, early acquainting himself with the details of farm labor, and in 1865 he became located in this county, which has since been his home. Previous to that time he had taken part in the Black Hawk War and for his services therein received a land warrant. After settling here he began merchandising at Spring Hill, but did not meet with very flattering results. On August 4, 1836, he was married to Elizabeth Morrin, daughter of Josiah and Mary Morrin, both originally from Kentucky. The former was a man of considerable prominence in the vicinity of his home, and besides being elected to the State Senate in 1840 he served as judge of the county court; he was a participant in the Mormon War. Mrs. Peniston was one of four children, the others being Laban, John and Sarah. By this union there were 11 children: Mary S., born June 25, 1837, wife of Thos. B. Yates; Martha, born December 24, 1838, died July 23, 1846; Amanda, born September 18, 1840, died November 29, 1846; Sarah A., born December 9, 1842, married James Knight and died March 3, 1883; Susan, born November 5, 1845, died December 14, 1846; Verona, born December 12, 1847, married James Vaughn and died March 3, 1883; John M., born March 8, 1853; Nannie, born February 5, 1855, now Mrs. John Burge; Ella, born April 7, 1857, died May 21, 1857; Robert and Josiah, twins, born March 10, 1860, and died three days later. Mr. Peniston's second marriage was to Mrs. Martha A. Hutchinson, formerly Miss Williams, and daughter of John B. and Polly Williams. They were both born in Virginia and came to this county at an early day; their family numbered 13 children. Mrs. Hutchinson's first husband, William Hutchinson, was killed at the battle of Wilson Creek. Mr. Peniston is now the owner of an excellent estate of 440 acres, well improved and in good cultivation. His brother Francis was a captain in the C. S. A. during the war and died soon after the battle of Lexington.


(Farmer, Section 5, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

As one of the first settlers of Livingston county and a man who has been a witness to and participant in the many wonderful changes which it has undergone, we would mention Porter Ramsey, for almost 50 years a resident of this locality. It was in 1838 that he first came to Missouri in company with his parents, Samuel and Rachel Ramsey, the year from which is dated his settlement here, and the years which have since gone have always found him still attending to the duties of his chosen calling. On commencing life for himself the occupation which had been taught when young naturally became his by adoption, and at this .time he owns 100 acres, under good improvement and cultivation. Originally from Franklin county, O., Mr. Ramsey was born February 22, 1823; his parents were natives of Ohio and Pennsylvania and from their marriage five children were born: Porter, Rutha A., now Mrs. Richard Reeves; Van Meter, Alexander and James. All were born in Ohio, though brought up in Livingston county. Mr. Ramsey has been twice married. First, December 14, 1844, to Miss Eliza A. Frith, daughter of Henry and Narcissa Frith and on December 14, 1882, Mrs. Elizabeth Straley became his wife, her maiden name having been Surbur. Her parents, Henry and Ann Surbur, were both Kentuckians by birth, and she was born in Pulaski county, Ky., October 28, 1833, coming to this State in 1858. Her father moved to Indiana when she was two years old, and was afterwards killed by the kick of a horse, leaving two other children: Christopher C. and Joseph H. Subsequently Mrs. S. married Mr. Buford Williams, and by this marriage there were eight children: Martisha, Artimisha, James A., Juliet, Emiseth, Rosanna, John and Banford. Mrs. Ramsey has one son, George M., and one daughter by her first husband, Laura, the wife of Joseph R. Mercer. Mr. and Mrs. Ramsey are now living upon the farm which was entered by the father of Mr. R. in a pioneer day. They are well known throughout this portion of the county and have many friends.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 17, Township 59, Range 25 west, Post-office, Jamesport.)

It has long since been acknowledged that no matter what a man's occupation in life may be a very necessary element to his success is a good education, and doubtless this is one cause of Mr. Rice's rise in material affairs, for he commenced life for himself without means or influence, though the fortunate possessor of an excellent education; for some time before leaving his native State, Kentucky, he was engaged in teaching and also after coming to Missouri he "taught the young idea" a few years. His principal occupation during life, however, has been farming and stock raising and in this latter branch of business he has become well known and thoroughly established. Born in Hopkins county, Ky., March 2, 1841, he was reared to a farm experience and in 1869 he cast his fortunes with Livingston county, Mo., where his true worth has since been recognized by a host of friends. His farm at this time embraces 200 acres, under substantial improvement. Mr. Rice's grandparents were James and Polly Rice, their marriage occurring October 22, 1799, and in their family were six children: Greenberry, Elizabeth, Arminda, Peggy M., John E. and Polly. James Rice died November 15, 1830, and his wife August 21, 1835. Louis Rice's father, John E., was twice married: first to Miss Eliza Clark, who bore him one child, William; afterwards Miss Jane Martin became his wife, and the latter was the mother of Louis. She died June 12, 1878, the father's death occurring May 29, 1874. On March 10, 1869, Mr. Rice was united in marriage with Miss Emma C., daughter of Isaac Ashby, an influential citizen of this vicinity, and they have a family of four children: John I., born July 27, 1873; Anna L., born August 4, 1875; Nancy J. E., born January 26, 1877, and Jennie, born May 25, 1882. Mrs. Rice has one sister living, Nancy A., the wife of John A. Mastries. Mr. Rice was one of seven children, the names of the others in the family being James H., Bayliss C., Martin, Mary E., now Mrs. John M. Dulin; Felix W. and Charles M., the latter a resident of Plano, Collins county, Texas. Mr. Rice and wife are both members of the Baptist Church. The former attributes his financial prosperity to one general rule, that is, not going in debt without a good prospect of paying at maturity; most generally paying as he goes:. He has been a Mason for about 20 years, having united with the lodge in Paradise, Ky.; he is now a member of Jamesport Lodge No. 201, A. F. and A. M., at Jamesport, Mo.


(Farmer and Physician, Post-office, Muddy Lane).

Dr. Rose, a physician of acknowledged merit and esteem in this portion of the county, was born March, 10, 1812, in Washington county, Pa., and removed to Fayette county in 1814. He remained there about ten years, passing his youthful days in the vicinity, but in 1822 he removed to Indiana, going thence to Kentucky in about two years, or in 1824. In 1834 he again changed his place of settlement, locating this time in Illinois, from whence he became a citizen of Missouri in 1836. At first he was identified with the interests of Marion county as a student at Marion College for some two years, but a strong desire to learn about medicine led him to commence its study with Dr. I. J. T. McIlroy, of Ralls county, under whom he made progress sufficient to justify him in entering into active professional life. While in that county the Doctor was married August 16, 1838, to a Miss Kenny, who was born in Bourbon county, Ky., March 17, 1813, the daughter of John and Mary Kenny, who became located in Ralls county, Mo., in an early day, where they afterwards died. Shortly following his marriage, Dr. Rose came to Livingston county, and for over 40 years he has continued to reside here, occupied jointly in farming and practicing his chosen profession. The early training which he received in this science was by no means sufficient to satisfy a person of his inquiring mind, consequently in 1866 he attended a course of lectures at the Missouri Medical College, from which he graduated with honor. His career as a practitioner has long been well and favorably known to the many who have tested his healing ability, and an abundant proof of his practice at this time is seen in the extended territory over which he goes to alleviate the sufferings of the sick. His home farm is a comfortable place of 200 acres, the surroundings of which are neat and attractive. Dr. and Mrs. Rose have four children: Catherine, born May 31, 1839, is the wife of Joseph Lilly, who has for years been bed-ridden from neuralgia of the heart; Mary A., born May 21, 1842, is now Mrs. John Kesler; Osborne, born April 2, 1844, died January 24, 1848; and Flora, born March 7, 1849, died April 8, 1849. The Doctor is a member of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Spring Hill Lodge No. 155. He is also connected with the M. E. S.


(Farmer and Blacksmith, Post-office, Spring Hill.)

It is indeed true that the life of any man is of great benefit to a community when all his efforts are directed towards advancing its interests, and of much greater value is he who gives to any community a worthy family of children that not only do honor to the name of their ancestor but themselves become useful and respected and prominent members of society. The family of children which have been born to Mr. Saylor and his estimable wife, formerly Miss Elizabeth S. Duckworth, have already identified themselves with the foremost citizens of the different localities where they have made their homes. One of their sons, Oscar, is a promising lawyer in Daviess county and another, Edward, is a rising young physician in this county. Surely to Mr. and Mrs. Saylor is due much credit for their efforts in behalf of these children, and it can be said with truth that the children in turn appreciate what has been done for them. Mr. S. was born November 11, 1822, in Tennessee, and in 1830 came to Missouri, locating in this county in 1837. His parents were natives of Pennsylvania and South Carolina respectively and their settlement in Ray county, Mo., dates from 1830 and in Livingston from 1837. Some fifteen years later, however, they returned to Ray county and there died, the father November 23, 1863, and the mother April 28, 1866. They had born to them four children: Henry B., John G. L., Mary E., wife of John Sheets, and Amanda M., wife of William Ferguson. The father was a soldier in the Mormon War. Henry R. Saylor was united in marriage October 20, 1842, with Miss Duckworth, the daughter of George and Cynthia M. Duckworth, who had in their family four children: James D., Robert D., Eliza A. and Martha. Mr. Saylor and wife have had 10 children: Emily J., born July 18, 1843, now Mrs. James Grimes; Oscar, born January 15, 1852; Edward, born March 18, 1855; Dora R., born July 12, 1858, wife of G. W. West; Martha G., born February 13, 1861, and Sarah A, William, Minnie E. and Willie H. who died when small. During the late war Mr. Saylor was in the C. S. A. for six months, seeing a great amount of hard service. He is now actively engaged in farming and blacksmithing and owns 170 acres of land, in a good state of cultivation.


(Farmer, Section 30, Post-office, Lock Springs).

It can not be denied that a man who lives according to the highest principles of what he conceives to be right, helping others and caring for those unable to do for themselves - in a word, keeping as his aim the Golden Rule, will receive the most honored esteem of his fellow-creatures. Such a one is the subject of this sketch. Born in Whitley county, Ky., October 21, 1814, he was the son of Joshua Tye, of North Carolina, who went to the Blue Grass State when a child, living there (in Whitley county) until his death. Joshua's mother was formerly Elizabeth Cummins, also a Kentuckian by birth. There were 11 children in the family, of whom Joshua was the fifth. He was reared in his native State on a farm and followed that occupation until coming to this county in 1856, and here he had since remained. He has been more than usually successful in the accumulation of property and now owns 380 acres of improved land. He was denied the advantages of an education in youth but in later years by observation and contact with persons of intelligence he has become possessed of a store of knowledge which those who were more fortunate when young might well envy. He is a consistent member of the Christian Church. Mr. Tye has been twice married. First, February 21, 1833, to Miss Margaret Sexton, who was born in Virginia. She died in 1858, leaving seven children: George M., Ferdinand, since deceased; Enoch, Thomas, William C., Jefferson and James. June 12, 1859, Miss Elizabeth Miller, of Kentucky, became his wife. They have six children: Martha, Frances, John, Elizabeth, Joseph and Drury.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Jamesport).

Mr. Tye is numbered among those who, while discharging their duty as brave, fearless soldiers, received proofs of their military service in the shape of wounds which crippled them, the effects of which are seen in more recent years. For a short time during the Civil War he was a member of the M. S. M. and from a wound received in the arm has since been crippled in that member. He has been a permanent resident of this county since 1862. In 1855 he first came to Missouri and remained for four years, returning thence to his native State, Kentucky. But shortly after, as stated, he became identified with Livingston county as one of her citizens. Since then he has gone forward steadily and surely, gaining for himself a name and reputation as a successful tiller of the soil that all acknowledge he deserves. His farm contains 270 acres all in a good state of cultivation, upon it there being a fine house and other buildings, convenient and commodious and well adapted to the care of stock, Mr. Tye being much interested in that industry. He is recognized as a man of advanced and progressive ideas, for he came originally from Whitley county, of the Blue Grass State, born June 4, 1833. In growing up he obtained a common school education and was reared to a farm experience and when about 24 years of age he was first married, his wife being Miss Elizabeth Hicks, daughter of James and Mahala Hicks, natives of Indiana, but early settlers in Missouri. Two children blessed this union, Sarah F., now Mrs. John Miller, and born March 6, 1858, and John, born April 6, 1860. Mr. Tye's second wife was formerly Miss Martha. J. Lewis, whose parents, James A. and Tabitha C. Lewis, were originally from Tennessee. They had a family of seven children: Mary, Willie H., Martha J., Cyrus T., Nancy, Isaac and Catherine; all now remain in their native State save the two who became located in Missouri. Mr. Tye is now situated on section 20 of this township, prominently connected with the agricultural affairs of the community.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Spring Hill).

The estate upon which Mr. Volk now resides and to which he is giving such close attention in its cultivation, embraces 200 acres, a well improved farm, substantial and convenient buildings being a leading feature of these improvements. He is numbered among the thrifty foreign-born residents of the county, having been born in the county of Cork, Province of Baden, Germany, September 1, 1829. His parents were also natives of that country, Jacob and Mary Volk (whose maiden name was Truttebach), and there remained until their deaths. They had born to them five children: Mary, wife of Chris. Rochmiles; Barbara, now Mrs. Jacob Hurst; Jacob, George (deceased) and John. The father during life was interested in agricultural pursuits in connection with blacksmithing. He was a soldier in the war with the allied forces against Napoleon and the French forces, received a wound near Strasburg, and for bravery and meritorious conduct was given a medal. John, the subject of this sketch, grew up in the country of his birth and in 1849 took part in the Rebellion, that famous struggle for liberty, and was with the noted Siegel, later of American fame. On the 27th of August, 1849, he became located in Livingston county, Mo., having left Germany, but in 1852 he took a trip to California where he remained for seven years. Returning to this county, he has since remained here, closely associated with the interests of the community. Besides farming he has also carried on something of a blacksmithing business, and in all his operations he has met with encouraging success. Mr. Volk was married October 25, 1859, to Miss Mary E. Usher, daughter of Samuel and Mary E. Usher, the former originally from France, but the mother a native American. They had two children besides Mary E.: William H. and Jacob. Mr. and Mrs. Volk are the parents of 11 children: Mary, born July 12, 1860, now Mrs. John Schwab; John H., born September 25, 1863; George, born February 24,1865; Elizabeth, born May 8, 1866, now Mrs. John M. Young; Anna, born October 11, 1867; Winnie, born July 7, 1869; William F., born February 16, 1871; Sarah A., born November 23, 1873; Charles, born May 1, 1876; Josephine, born April 12, 1874, died October 1, 1879; Ellen and Nellie, twins born June 13, 1878.


(Dealer in General Merchandise, Spring Hill).

The business interests of this portion of the country are well represented by the subject of this sketch, Geo. W. Wingo, who has been located at this place long enough to become firmly established. Previously he had given his attention to both farming and blacksmithing, but mercantile life seemed to have a peculiar attraction for him and his wisdom in embarking in it has been proven by his success in subsequent years. The stock which he carries is a well assorted one, sufficiently large for the patronage extended him, and selected with regards to the wants of the people. By birth Mr. Wingo is a Virginian, having been born in Giles county, of the Old Dominion, November 28, 1836. His parents were also natives of the same State and in 1844 took up their location in Livingston county, Mo. Besides George W. they had five children: Mary, now Mrs. John Porterfield; John A., Lena, wife of James Ramsey; Jennie, now Mrs. Jesse Davis, and James. The senior Wingo was a blacksmith by trade and during his life he devoted himself to that calling; he and his wife were both members of the M. E. Church South and he is still prominent in that denomination, but his worthy companion died in November, 1885. George W. Wingo in growing up was taught blacksmithing and became so familiar with it as an occupation that he followed it for a number of years. Then he began farming and met with fair success continuing it until commencing as a merchant at Spring Hill, where his career since has been noted. July 5, 1855, he was united in marriage with Miss Martha J., daughter of John and Amanda Leeper, her father having been an early settler in this county and in his day prominently identified with merchandising. Their family numbered 10 children: Henry T., James R., Alice, now Mrs. Nova Patton; Cynthia A., wife of Anderson Black; Daniel, Mary, Mrs. Daniel Williams; Elizabeth, Mrs. James Ramsey: Mr. and Mrs. Wingo have had six children: John E., born May 7, 1856; Cora B., born March 25, 1858, now Mr.. Ed. Shumate; Thomas R., born May 17, 1860; Nova W., born July 25, 1864; Walker W., born April 12, 1868; Daniel B., born November 28, 1872. Mr. Wingo and wife are members of the M. E. Church. He belongs to the Masonic Order and at present is master of Spring Hill Lodge No. 155.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 19, Post-office, Spring Hill).

John S. Venable, a substantial tiller of the soil of this portion of the county, was born October 8, 1833, in Virginia, his parents being William and Agnes Venable, themselves natives of Prince Edward county, Va., where they were born and reared. In 1833 they came to Missouri and in 1835 to this county and township, where their home continued to be until death, the father dying February 27, 1856, and the mother December 12, 1874. They were both consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South. The senior Venable was a soldier in the War of 1812. Six children were in their family: Charles, James P., Josiah, William R., Anna E., wife of E. J. Duncan, and John S. The latter is now recognized as one of the model agriculturists of this township. His estate embraces 550 acres of land, well improved, his commodious dwelling and the various surroundings about the place denoting a successful, progressive farmer. Living in the enjoyment of a sufficiency of this world's goods, he is liberal to others, of a generous disposition, and most hospitable. Mr. Venable came to this state with his parents and was principally reared in Livingston county, his residence here dating from a time when the country was almost a wilderness - the abode of Indians, wild beasts, and an abundance of game. His brother Charles took part in the Mormon War and was one of those who helped to arrest the Heatherlys, referred to elsewhere in this volume. November 18, 1858, Mr. V. was married to Eliza J. Crews, daughter of Joseph and Letitia Crews, she having been born in Kentucky on November 28, 1841; her parents came here in an early day. Eleven children were in their family, six of whom reached mature years: Williamson, Eliza J., Mollie, wife of Daniel Metcalf; Letitia F., wife of James Anderson; William H., Elizabeth, wife of John Peery. Mr. and Mrs. Venable have had 9 children: Letitia A., born September 7, 1859, now Mrs. John A. Duncan; Joseph W., born January 5, 1864; Charles P., born September 16, 1867; Elizabeth C., born September 10, 1870; Theodosia, born September 23, 1874; Sarah E., born October 10, 1861, died February 14, 1862; Mary A., born March 23, 1863, died February 23, 1864; Fannie, born September 13, 1878, died the following year; John A., born July 17, 1883, died February 17, 1884. Mr. Venable and wife are members of the Baptist Church. The former belongs to Spring Hill Lodge No. 155, A. F. and A. M. His brothers and sister's are all dead save Charles, Robert and Mrs. Duncan. They now occupy the old homestead entered by their parents, esteemed and respected by a host of acquaintances, who have so long known them.



(Post-office, Sampsel).

Mrs. Bills, whose maiden name was Boone, is well known to the people of the community in which she makes her home. Her birth occurred January 10, 1824, in the State of North Carolina, her parents being Elijah and Nancy Boone, nee Evans. They were also both natives of North Carolina. The father was born in Northampton county, December 12, 1796, and by occupation was a farmer. He continued to live in the State of his birth until removing to Livingston county, Mo., in 1834. The mother was born October 12, 1796. Of their family of 11 children, Presley, born July 13, 1819, and Harriet are the only ones living. The names of the others, with the date of their birth were: Mary Magdalene, born November 3, 1814; Henry, born June 13, 1817, died July 25, 1843; Nicholas A., born January 15, 1822, died September 7, 1830; Milly F., born October 11, 1827; Clifton R., born March 15, 1830; Nancy A., born May 10, 1832; Sarah A., born November 5, 1834, died September 19, 1870; James H., born February 10, 1836, and Elizabeth E., born February 28, 1839, died February 3, 1844. On December 22, 1840, Miss Harriet Boone was married to Stephen Bills, who was born March 8, 1823. He came to this county at an early day, and in 1849 was drawn to California by the tidings of the fortunate gold seekers. He remained in that far-off land until 1853, meeting with fair success. Returning to this county he devoted himself to farming, owning a landed estate of 200 acres. His death took place August 22, 1859. He was a member of Spring Hill Lodge No. 155, A. F. and A. M. Mr. and Mrs. Bills were the parents of the following family of children: Ellen, born June 13, 1844, now Mrs. Clinton Wear, of DeKalb county, Mo.; Calvin, born December 9, 1847; Lydia L., born August 16, 1855, married John Sumpter; Nancy H., born April 8, 1827, wife of A. P. Shaur; John W., born March 30, 1859; Mary Jane, born October 10, 1842, died December 29, 1848. Mrs. Bills' father and her two brothers, Presley and Henry, were in the Mormon War and participated in the massacre at Haun's Mill.


(Farmer, Section 16, Post-office, Sampsel).

In looking back upon the ancestors of Mr. Boucher, it is found that his grandparent on his father's side, Elisha and Sallie Boucher, came from Tennessee, while his father and mother, the latter a Miss Sarah Frith, were Virginians by birth, their marriage having occurred December 23, 1847. The mother was born March 25, 1825, and to herself and husband were given eight children: Joseph S., born February 26, 1852; A. J., born July 13, 1853; Amanda E., born November 15, 1856, now Mrs. David N. Gibbs: William E., born February 29, 1860; Rutha J., born November 20, 1854, now deceased, and Eliza A. and Mahala J., who died January 8, 1886, in Clarke county, Kan. A sad incident is connected with their death. In company with their mother, becoming alarmed in their home, they attempted to go to a brother's house about half a mile distant, but in the midst of a terrible snow storm perished near their brother's door. The mother survived through the night and was found the next morning, and for a month and four days she lingered in agony until, submitting to an amputation of the feet, she failed to recover and soon died. The bodies of these unfortunates were brought home and interred in the family cemetery, where they now rest, awaiting the final day when they shall be clothed immortal. The family are all members of the Baptist Church. Thomas E. Boucher was married January 26, 1873, to Miss Agnes Gann, and they have six children: Lydia, born May 29, 1874; Ada J., born August 25, 1876; Edna W., born December 8, 1878; Emery E., born March 6, 1881; Lulu A., born April 18, 1883, and Pearlie, born February 14, 1885. Mrs. Boucher's birth occurred February 27, 1855, her father, Abraham Gann, having been brought up in this State. He went to California in 1849, and met with fair success. His first wife was Mrs. Sarah A. Winnigan, who bore him one child besides Agnes, James G. By a second marriage there was one son, Thomas J., and all reside in this county. Mr. Boucher's connection with farming has been of great benefit to him, and he now successfully tills 130 acres of land.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Sampsel).

Among the families who early became settled in the territory of Missouri was that of which the subject of this sketch is a worthy representative. He himself was born in Ray county, this State, May 12, 1830, hrs maternal grandparents being of English origin. His grandfather died in Tennessee and his grandmother in Livingston county. Elisha Boucher, Andrew's father, of Virginia nativity, was brought up there and after removing to Tennessee was there married to Miss Sarah English, daughter of Joshua English, of that State. They continued to live there for 25 years, coming thence to Missouri in 1827, and settling near Richmond, Ray county, from whence seven years thereafter they moved to this county. Here the father died October 22, 1858, and the mother May 18, 1866. They were consistent members of the Baptist Church and there was probably no man a more earnest advocate of the principles of his religion than Mr. B. Their children were Polly A., Sarah, Catherine, Elizabeth, Calestine, Joshua, John, Martha, James, Thomas, William, Andrew J., Jane, Julia. Joshua and James were members of Slack's company in the Mexican War and died while in the service. All these children, save the two just referred to, arrived at maturity and married; Thomas went to California in an early day and is still there; William and Calestine are located in Texas, and the remainder are in this county. Andrew J. Boucher was brought up to a farm experience in this vicinity, a calling which he has ever followed. In 1861 he enlisted in the M. S. M., was made sergeant and then first lieutenant, being discharged as such in June, 1865. He was in several minor engagements, among others the fight at Union Mills, in Platte county, on the old Weldon farm in Daviess county, etc., besides that near Brunswick. Mr. Boucher's educational opportunities in youth were rather meager, but by subsequent study and observation he has become well informed. His farm embraces 237 acres. April 20, 1866, his marriage to Miss Elizabeth Goben was consummated. She was born and reared in this county, her father, Levi F. Goben and wife having removed here in 1830, and both are still respected citizens of Livingston. Mr. and Mrs. Boucher's family consists of 7 children: John E., born May 23, 1867; Charles W., born December 20, 1868; Irene C., born September 23, 1871; Bertie E., born December 3, 1873; Inez, born April 8, 1876; Laura, born March 23, 1878, and Myrtle, born July 2, 1884.


(Farmer, Section 16, Post-office, Sampsel).

This young agriculturist is the son of a man who, during his residence here, was intimately and prominently identified with the county's interest, and whose memory is cherished by a host of those acquainted with him while living. David S. Breeze was born in Indiana January 1, 1818, and in 1838 removed to Ripley county, Mo., from which locality he came to Livingston county, which was his home until the time of his death, April 26, 1875. For a number of years he occupied various official positions and for a long time served as justice of the peace. He and his wife were active, consistent members of the M. E. Church South. Mrs. Breeze was formerly Miss Elizabeth Spaulding, daughter of Philip Spaulding, their marriage occurring January 31, 1841. She was born and brought up in Missouri and settled in this county in 1846. Ten children were born to them: William, born October 21, 1841, married Mary Van Brimmer December 31, 1863, and they have three children; John, born February 24, 1843, married in April, 1869, Miss Martha Hughes; Sarah C., born November 2, 1845, married March 6, 1864, Ananias Gann; Elizabeth, born September 21, 1847, married James Gann May 2, 1864; Lucinda, born July 12, 1849, married B. F. Hampton in January, 1880; Clarinda, born March 22, 1851, is now Mrs. Daniel Sullivan, having been married March 11, 1884 (all of these mentioned reside now in Lafayette county, Mo.); David H., born November 2, 1853, was married June 21, 1885; Thomas S., the subject of this sketch, born February 22, 1856; James M., born January 4, 1859, and George W., born December 3, 1860. Thomas S. Breeze was born in this county and has always resided here. His farm at this time embraces 40 acres, which is being well managed. His grandfather, John Breeze, was born in North Carolina, May 5, 1790, removed to Indiana in an early day and married Miss Sarah Hollaway, who bore him eight children: Jessie, Richard, Thomas, Jonathan, David S., Reuben, Cornelius N. and Mary J. He was married the second time to Miss Martha McCormick, and by this union there was one child, James W. In his farming operations Mr. Thos. S. Breeze is meeting with encouraging success.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Sampsel).

One of seven children in the family of his parents, George W. and Miriam (Crump) Brown, the subject of this sketch was born December 4, 1839, and came originally from Giles county, Va., of which State both his father and mother were natives. The former always made his home there, dying in November, 1878; he followed fanning during life with fair success, was connected with the Masonic fraternity, and also belonged to the Lutheran Church. Besides holding the position of colonel of militia in an early day, he filled various other offices of responsibility and trust. Mrs. Brown still resides in Virginia. The other children in their family besides John R. were George W., Sarah, now Mrs. Hardin Shumate; Andrew B., Mary, wife of Paul Smith; Ballard P., Martha, now Mrs. Rufus Eaton, and Milton, deceased. John R. Brown was reared as a farmer, growing up with a full knowledge of agricultural life until 1861, when he entered upon a career which was destined to be one of privation and hardship, such as is attendant upon the lot of a soldier. Enlisting in Co. F, 45th Virginia regiment, C. S. A., under command of Col. Heath (and he under Gen. Floyd), he took part in nine general engagements, among which might be mentioned those of Colfax Court-house, White Sulphur Springs, Louisburg, Cotton Mountain, Laurel Bend, Narrows of New River, Parisburg, Cloyd's Farm and Piedmont. June 5, 1884, he was taken prisoner, and for nine months was held at Camp Morton, Ind., then being exchanged on March 12, following. Going to Richmond, he remained on furlough until the close of the war. In 1869 he came to Missouri, settling at his present location, and here he has since been engaged in farming, the result of these years of industry and hard application being seen in the good estate which he now owns, consisting of 132 acres of improved land. February 4, 1868, Mr. Brown was married to Miss Louisa J. Dryden, daughter of Jonathan J. and Caroline Dryden, mention of whom appears elsewhere in this volume. Mr. and Mrs. B. have had six children: Iona V., born January 7, I869, now Mrs. C. O. Purdin; Martha O., born December 12, 1872; Augusta L., born October 29, 1874; Edna F., born December 28, 1876; Milton D., born October 9, 1879, and Marvin L., born June 3, 1881. Mr. Brown and wife are members of the M. E. Church South.


(Farmer, Post-office, Spring Hill).

Since 1853 he whose name heads this sketch has been numbered among the representatives and substantial agriculturists of Livingston county, Mo., having come here from Indiana. He is now of an advanced age, nearly 80 years old, but sound in mind and body and possessed of all his faculties, one of the respected, honored citizens of this portion of the county. Born in Bedford county, Va., May 14, 1807, he was the son of Joel and Elizabeth (Rife) Crumpacker, the latter a daughter of John Rife, a native of Maryland. In 1835 they became located in Indiana and this continued to be their home until their death. Including Joshua there were eight children in the family: Benjamin, John, Joel, Anna, Elizabeth, wife of Daniel Y. Kesler; Nancy and Daniel. Joshua was reared upon a farm in Virginia and has always followed this calling as his, principal occupation, though to some extent he gave his attention to carpentering and milling. Moving to Indiana in 1835, he resided there until coming to this county in 1853. In the meantime, August 15, 1849, he was united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth Willson, daughter of Peter and Sarah Willson. To himself and wife were born five children: Perry, born May 7, 1850; Ella, born October 9, 1852, wife of David Girdner; Alice, born April 7, 1855, now Mrs. George Black; Peter, born March 28, 1857, died September 11, 1857; and Rife, born July 17, 1859. For a number of years Mr. Crumpacker has been a member of the Masonic fraternity and he now belongs to Spring Hill Lodge No. 155. Himself and wife are consistent members of the Baptist Church and in every way upright, esteemed people.


On the 13th of November, 1855, there died, at his home in Livingston county, Mo., a man who had been a resident of this county for fifteen years, and whose name had stood from the beginning without reproach - Jonathan J. Dryden. So many of his children have become prominently identified with the affairs of this county, that it is but proper a sketch of his life should be inserted here. Originally from Sullivan county, Tenn., he was born November 15, 1813. In 1838 he removed to Missouri, locating in Daviess county. Previous to that time he had served as a soldier in the Florida War in 1836 and 1837, from which he was honorably discharged, and for his services he received a land warrant. After his settlement in Daviess county he took active and deep interest in its welfare, and, besides his connection with its agricultural affairs, was engaged in school teaching and also became well-known in an official capacity. Besides being assessor he was sheriff in 1854, his election to that once being by the largest majority ever bestowed upon a candidate for that position, His death occurred while he was discharging the duties of that office, and his loss was the more keenly felt because it was known that a good and useful man had departed. His wife was formerly Caroline L. Dryden, a native of Washington county, Va., and daughter of William and Sarah Dryden. The latter's parents were Francis and Sarah Berry, Virginians by birth. Mrs. Caroline Dryden was born in 1813, and in 1830 accompanied her father's family to Chariton county, Mo., moving thence to Daviess county. The father was a farmer and black smith, and after moving to Linn county, he remained there until his death in 1860; his wife survived until 1874, dying in the same county. Fifteen children were in their family, twelve of whom grew to maturity: Nathaniel J., Constantine, Augustine, Caroline L., Eliza A., Sallie H., William W., Thomas L., Louisa, Oscar D., Virginia, A. and Johns Q. Jonathan Dryden and wife had given them five children: David N., born January 6, 1843; William L., now deceased; Louisa J., wife of John R. Brown; Thomas A., born January 4, 1851, and John R., born July 4, 1854. Mr. D. was a participant in both the Mormon and Heatherly Wars. All his children are members of the M. K. Church South. Thomas A. Dryden, at whose instance this sketch is inserted, is closely occupied in tilling the soil here, and, on account of his thorough acquaintance with the calling, is making it a success.


(Post-office, Lock Springs).

The personal example and influence which this humble but worthy minister of the Gospel casts about him in every-day life can not but be beneficial to those who enjoy the privilege of his companionship for by no means the least of his gifts is the transcendent power of personal quality. His faithful, earnest endeavors to show others the error of their ways and to point them to Christ, have not gone unrewarded, and while it may not be his privilege to witness the reaping of all the truths which be has spoken, he has been enabled to feel the force of that precious passage in God's word that "He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him." Mr. French was born in Stewart county, Tenn., February 1, 1822. His father was Marshal French, also of Tennessee nativity, his parents having removed to that State from North Carolina. He died there while his son, J. W, was quite young. The maiden name of his mother was Mary Lindsey, of the same State, her parents also having come originally from North Carolina. J. W. grew up in the State of his birth and there received his education, removing to Livingston county, Mo., in 1846. His first settlement was made south of the river, where be continued to farm for some time. About 1856 he was licensed to preach in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and in 1858 was ordained, his connection at that time being with the Chillicothe Presbytery and the McAdow Synod. From the commencement of his ministerial career he labored principally in Grundy, Harrison and Daviess counties until 1873, when he was incapacitated from further service on account of sickness. During this time, however, he assisted in the organization of many new churches. In 1868 he came to his present place of residence and here he owns 240 acres; of land. September 14, 1844, Mr. French. was married to Miss Nancy Emaline McKinney, who was born in January, 1823, in the same county as himself, and daughter of Zanty and Sarah Whited McKinney. The former was born in South Carolina, August 23, 1797, and after the War of 1812 removed to Tennessee, where he remained until removing to Missouri, May 31, 1855. Mrs. McKinney's death occurred in 1879 and she left four children: Martha, Mrs. William Haddock; Adaline, Mrs. James Minnick; Margaret, now Mrs. John Minnick, and Nancy E. Mr. and Mrs. French have four children: Lycurgus, in Daviess county; Isabel, wife of John Foster, in Dakota; Edgar, at home farm, and Lizzie M. Four are deceased: William G., Adley F., Lavina l. and Sarah, who married Thomas Minnick. Miss Lizzie Mildred has never been able to walk, having been paralyzed in infancy from the effects of fever. She is now an attractive young lady, of pleasing manners and sunny disposition, the effects of which are felt by all with whom she comes in contact. Her example of Christian fortitude is seldom seen at the present day. Mr. F. is a charter member of Lock Spring Lodge, of the A, F. and A. M. His personal popularity is as wide as his acquaintance.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 12, Post-office, Chillicothe).

Mr. Grouse is a German-American and a farmer, and that is enough to carry the assurance that he is one of the substantial men of Sampsel township, where he resides. Thrift is the leading characteristic of the German people, and ordinarily they become well-to-do. Mr. Grouse was born in Germany September 8, 1827, the son of Michael and Rosana Grouse, also natives of that country, where they resided until their death. They were the parents of four children: Catherine, Christina, Rosana, now Mrs. Geo. Mast, and John, all besides the latter having remained in their native country. Upon growing up he was taught both farming and milling, and was favored with good educational advantages, which were improved. In 1852, he emigrated to America and settled in Ohio, where he remained for eight years, then coming to Missouri, in which he has since resided. He now devotes himself to the care and management of his place of two hundred and ten acres, a well improved farm, and which is being conducted in the best possible manner. His rise to his present position has been accomplished only at the expense of hard toil, for on coming here he had but limited means. In 1854, Mr. Grouse was married in his native country to Miss Barbara Landenberger, whose birth occurred in Germany in 1828, the other children in her parents' family being Mary and Goodlou. Mr. and Mrs. Grouse had have eleven children: Christina, born February 14, 1854, now Mrs. Christopher Seitter, of Caldwell county; Mary, born October 23, 1855, wife of John Mast; John F., born August 16, 1857; Goodlou, born November 5, 1859; George H., born August 4, 1861; Rosana, born May 7, 1863; Katie, born January 9, 1865; Elizabeth, born March 1, 1869; Willie F., born August 28, 1871; George, born November 27, 1858, died September 2, 1860; Charles F., born October 17, 1867, died March 18, 1885.


(Farmer, Section 3, Post-office, Sampsel).

Mr. Hoskinson was born in Ohio county, Ky., February 9, 1841, his maternal grandparents being Thomas and Katy Ashby, both Virginians by birth, who removed in an early day to Kentucky. On his father's side his grandparents were Hugh and Nancy Hoskinson, originally from the Blue Grass State. Mr. H.'s father, Chas. C. Hoskinson, was born and brought up in Kentucky, as was also his wife, formerly Miss Tamer Ashby. The former was a farmer by occupation, and he remained in his native State until 1862, when he died. Ten children had blessed his marriage, and of these the following are deceased: Thomas W., Susan C., Cynthia J. and Margaret E. Those who reached maturity are Sarah E., now Mrs. Aaron Jewell; Joseph W., in Ohio county, Ky.; Charles W.; James A., in Kentucky; Ruth A., now Mrs. Conrad Roder, of Philadelphia, Pa.; John R., of Iron county, Mo. Having been brought up on a farm it was perhaps but natural that Mr. Hoskinson should choose that occupation as his calling in life. This he has since continued, and with the substantial results that only come of strict attention to business and care and thoroughness in the discharge of every detail. He now owns 110 acres of land. In 1861 he enlisted in the United States service in Co. D, 26th Kentucky infantry, took part in the battle of Shiloh, and on the second day of the engagement was wounded, then being sent to the hospital at St. Louis. In a month thereafter he received a furlough for sixty days, then went home, and from there to Evansville, Ind., going thence three months later to Louisville, where he remained two and a half months. He obtained an honorable discharge in 1863, and in 1869 he left Kentucky and took up his location in this county. June 5, 1862, Mr. H. married Miss Sarah E. Ashby, daughter of Thomas and Tirtha Ashby, of the same county as himself. They have nine children: Charles T., born October 24, 1863; Frances A. A., born August 8, 1866; Susan M. E., born December 31, 1868; William A. L., born December 3, 1871; Edmund H., born May 5, 1874; Lillian R., born December 12, 1876; Cynthia J., born September 29, 1879; Effie May, born April 7, 1882, and Joseph R.. born April 10, 1884. Frances married George W. Cooper March 4, 1884, and they have one son, John W. R.. born October 13, 1885.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 1, Post-office, Spring Hill).

The estate which Mr. Hutchinson now cultivates embraces 200 acres, land well adapted to the purposes of general farming, and in his operations he displays those sterling principles characteristic of men of Kentucky birth, especially industry and wise, judicious management. He was born January 25, 1832, in Lincoln county, of the Blue Grass State, his father being William Hutchinson, a Virginian by nativity. The latter was reared in Kentucky as a farmer and about the year 1843 removed to Livingston county, Mo., where he made his home until his death. His wife's maiden name was Mary Carpenter, daughter of Henry Carpenter, also of Kentucky. To Henry's parents were born 10 children: John J., Sophia J., Betsy A., Susan

Amanda, Polly A., James (deceased), Robert, Americus and Margaret. Young Henry accompanied his father on his removal to this county and has since remained here. After reaching manhood he married November 20, 1859, Miss Sarah A. Nave, daughter of Jesse Nave, who was the founder of Spring Hill. Mrs. H. was born August 13, 1838, her brothers and sisters being Nancy E., now Mrs. James Pepper; Mary J., George B., Jesse D., Margaret P. J., now Mrs. William Sterling, and James, who is deceased. Jesse Nave built the first house in the town of Spring Hill and was the first to bring goods into the place. He is well remembered as the original merchant of that town. Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson number 10 children in their family: Mary S., born October 16, 1860, wife of F. P. Bane; William H., born December 5, 1861; George D., born February 23, 1863; Belle, born July 29, 1864; Sarah E., born September 14, 1867; Mina E., born February 28, 1868; James S., born May 15, 1870; Ollie B., born March 7, 1873; Jesse C., born December 6, 1875, and Charles B., born September 19, 1878.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 6, Post-office, Lock Spring.)

The biographies of men whose wealth or position has been inherited from generation to generation afford but little encouragement to the youth of the present day; but the life-work of men who have carved their way up from humble and almost obscure positions to places of substantial esteem, is sufficient to stimulate the energies of these same young men. Thomas Litton is perhaps not what the world would call wealthy, but he has gained for himself a comfortable competency and, better than all, the respect of a large circle of friends. He owns an estate of 800 acres, with complete and necessary improvements. Mr. Litton was born in Whitley county, Ky., March 25, 1822, the second son and fourth child of eight children born to Hiram and Elizabeth Litton, nee Cox, the former a native of Virginia and the latter a Kentuckian by birth. Hiram Litton continued to farm in Kentucky after his marriage up to the time of his death. Thomas' mother died when he was six years old. He grew up in Kentucky until the age of 15, then came to Cole county, Mo., and after living there two years removed to this county, where he has since made his home, occupied persistently in fanning and merchandising. He now owns a dry goods store at Lock Springs, in Daviess county, besides having other property, elsewhere referred to. July 29, 1841, Mr. Litton was married to Miss Mary Ann Brookshire of this State who died February 18, 1847, leaving three children George W., Elizabeth, wife of Lorenzo D. Smith, and Mary Ann, who married Abraham McClure. October 7, 1868, Mr. L. was again married, Susan M. Barnes becoming his wife. Her birth occurred in Grayson county, Ky. They have seven children: Eliza, now Mrs. A. Moore; Alexander, John Speed, Cynthia, Frances, who married John Huston; Thomas and Sarah Ann. Besides these Emaline, Angeline, Hiram and Nancy C. are deceased.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 17, Post-office, Lock Springs).

The agricultural interests of Sampsel township are ably represented by the subject of this sketch, a man whose entire life has been passed in the calling which now receives his attention. He is a native of the county and consequently has an extended acquaintance in the community. Born September 7, 1843, he was the son of John Mansfield, a native of Indiana, who came to Missouri and settled in Livingston county in 1839. By occupation he was a miller. His wife was Mrs. Susan McCoskrie, whose maiden name was Rockhold. She came originally from White county, Tenn., and located in Clay county, Mo., in 1823, where, in 1826, she was united in marriage with Levi McCoskrie. They subsequently removed to Ray county and after a five years' residence there came to Livingston, where Mr. McCoskrie died, leaving five children: Emaline, John, Isaac, Martha and Levy. As stated above she afterwards became the wife of Mr. Mansfield, and to them were born two children, Reuben and Sarelda A., the latter of whom died in 1855. John Mansfield was a gallant soldier in the Mexican War, laying down his life in that struggle; at the battle of Taos he was killed by an arrow shot by an Indian. Mrs. Mansfield remained a widow until her marriage to Andrew Ewen. Reuben Mansfield was brought up and educated in this county and has become thoroughly conversant with the duties of agricultural life. He owns 490 acres of well improved land, improved in a manner which indicates the successful and progressive tiller of the soil, and he gives no little attention to the stock industry. May 8, 1862, he married Mary Jane Ewen, whose birth occurred in Illinois May 3, 1845. It was in 1846 that she accompanied her parents to this county. Mr. and Mrs. Mansfield have seven children living: Margaret S., born February 11, 1863; Ida E., born February 28, 1868; James, born October 25, 1871; Oliver, born August 11, 1875; Reuben, born February 5, 1877; Julian, born March 10, 1879, and Missouri, born February 8, 1881. Three are deceased, John A., Levi M. and Addison A. Mr. M. is a member of the Masonic Order and of the M. E. Church South.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 19, Post-office, Sampsel).

Comparatively a young man, still less than 39 years of age, Mr. Minnick has attained to a place among the agriculturists of this vicinity that is most creditable to him, and shows without doubt that he is thoroughly acquainted with every detail of farm labor. This was the occupation to which he was reared. Henry H. Minnick, his father, was born in Washington county, Va., September 2, 1814, and died May 30, 1863; Miss Matilda Cubine was the maiden name of William's mother, and she, too, was a Virginian by birth, born in 1839, her death occurring October 8, 1869. In 1834 the parents removed from the Old Dominion to Livingston county, Mo., and here the father was actively engaged in tilling the soil until his death. He was a man of sterling integrity and a warm friend and desirable neighbor, one who had the esteem of all who were favored with his acquaintance. Seven children were in the family of himself and wife: Thomas J., William E. and Leander J. are the only ones now living. One son, James P. Minnick, enlisted during the war in the Confederate army under Col. Slack, and was killed at Wilson's Creek August 10, 1861. William E. first saw the light in this county December 16, 1847. As has been intimated, he grew to manhood on the old homestead and from an early period has devoted his time to the pursuits of agriculture, in company with his brothers, Thomas and Leander. Together they now own 600 acres of land, their combined efforts in the management of this place resulting in unusual success. Everything about the place indicates prosperity and industry and they indeed deserve all the good fortune which has befallen them. Mr. William Minnick is unmarried.


(Farmer, Section 5, Post-office, Sampsel).

Mr. Peery is of Virginia parentage, his father, Robert Peery, and also his mother, whose maiden name was Margaret McFarlane, having been born in the Old Dominion, the former in 1783, in Tazewell county. His occupation during life was that of an agriculturist. In 1838 he came to Missouri and was one of its first settlers of Grundy county, afterwards becoming one of its most prominent and highly respected citizens. Among other positions which he occupied was that of county judge, and it was at his suggestion that the county of Grundy received the name which it has always borne. He died December 25, 1849. To himself and wife a family of twelve children had been given. Of these Ann married Thomas Carnes; Mildred became the wife of Judge A. Thompson, of Grundy county, and James and Fielding are living, the others being deceased. Their names were Eliza, Sarah, John, Robert, Walter, Elizabeth, Caroline and Dorinda. James W. Peery, the subject of this sketch, was born in Lee county, Va., October 19, 1829. On March 22, 1853, he was married to a Miss Ligett, whose father was Andrew Ligett. She was born in Ray county, Mo., April 7, 1834. In March, 1854, Mr. Peery and his wife came to this county and here they have since remained. His farm contains 61 acres and he is giving his attention to its cultivation in a manner which has thus far proven to be of substantial success. During the war Mr. P. served for some time, but was honorably discharged in 1865. Himself and wife have five children living: Emma, born October 15, 1855, now Mrs. George Beppers; Maggie L:, born November 7, 1859, wife of A. Henderson; Sarah E., born November 7, 1859; Andrew B., born January 20, 1865, and William R., born June 24, 1872. One child, born March 20, 1862, died in March, 1865. Mr. Peery belongs to Spring Hill Lodge No. 155, A. F. and A, M.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 15, Post-office, Sampsel).

Perhaps the most exciting and thrilling period of the life of Mr. Renschler was during his career as a soldier, and the brief account here given of his service in the army will convey something of an idea of what was undergone by him. He is of German birth and descent, having been born in Germany May 15, 1842, the son of Bernard Renschler, a farmer of that country. He was there married, his wife still being a resident of that locality. He died in 1858. George F., the only child of the family now living, grew up in the country of his nativity and became familiar with the trade of shoemaking. In 1859 he emigrated to the United States and in 1861 enlisted in Co. I, 6th Pennsylvania volunteer regiment, serving in all for three years and eight months. Among the engagements in which he took part were those of Dranesville, Bull Run, White Oak, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg and several of minor importance; and after re-enlisting December 25, 1863, he followed the Wilderness campaign and participated in the struggles connected therewith. He was wounded in the second Bull Run fight, subsequently went to Spottsylvania, thence to Cold Harbor, and finally to Petersburg, where he remained until August 19, then being taken a prisoner. After being confined at Bell Island, Salisbury, etc., for six and a half months he was paroled March 2, 1865, upon a 30 days furlough, but being taken sick he could not report until June 6, following. Six days later he was honorably discharged. Mr. Renschler now returned to Pennsylvania and in August, 1865, he went to Madison county, Ill., where on the 6th inst. he married Miss Lottie A. Hannah. Going back to Pennsylvania he remained there until coming to this county, which has since been his home. His farm embraces 120 acres of land, well improved, and which is being cultivated to advantage. Himself and wife have 10 children: Sarah T., born October 26, 1867; Mary E., born July 23, 1870; John H., born November 13, 1871; Emma M., born August 1, 1873; Guy Lester, born March 11, 1877; Pearl E., born December 24, 1878; Ledith E., born August 26, 1881, died February 25, 1886; Tully D., born September 7, 1883; Arthur L., born March 27, 1885, and Willie F., born April 6, 1875, died September 29, 1876.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 9, Post-office, Sampsel).

The farm which Mr. Shumate now owns and conducts in such an enterprising, industrious manner embraces 168 acres of land, forming one of the neat, comfortable homesteads of this township. The improvements upon it are convenient and complete, and such as are necessary. He is a Virginian by birth, having been born September 19, 1824, in Giles county, of the Old Dominion. His grandparents on his father's side were originally from England - Hardin and Milly Shumate, and one of their children was Hardin, Jr., who, after his birth in Virginia and upon reaching manhood, married Miss Elizabeth Leach, of the same State. Mr. S. followed farming with very fair success, and continued to live in comfort with his wife until their deaths, at the ages respectively, of 93 and 90 years. Heaven had blessed their union with 11 children: Jane, now Mrs. Joseph Carper; Cynthia, now Mrs. Madison Dunn; Daniel, Kendley, are living; and Edmund, Hardin, Hester, wife of David Martin, and Susan, wife of Lorenzo D. Martin, are all dead; George W., Elizabeth (deceased) and William. With the exception of Daniel, who is a resident of Harrison county, Mo., and William, all those who survive live in their native State. The subject of this sketch in growing up was not favored with very liberal facilities for acquiring an education, though the opportunities which he did enjoy were improved to the best advantage. His spare moments were passed in attending to duties about the home farm, and this occupation he has always followed. May 15, 1850, he was married to Miss Martha S. Hale, daughter of Daniel Hale, Esq., of Giles county, Va., a representative citizen of that locality, who for a number of years represented his county in the State Legislature. He was also sheriff of the county. Mrs. S. was born February 29, 1832; she had three brothers in the Confederate army, one of whom was wounded at Petersburg, and the others were in military prison at the close of the war. Mr. Shumate and wife have 11 children: William H., born February 20, 1851; Edmund L., born October 21, 1852; Sarah E., born August 9, 1854, married Samuel Cooper, and died February 15, 1878; Mary J., born November 29, 1856, now Mrs. America Morgan, of this county; Cynthia A., born January 17, 1859, died November 22, 1860; Daniel H., born April 23, 1861; Emma, born February 24, 1864; Laura D., born April 13, 1866; Walter, born July 15, 1869; Susie, born October 12, 1871, and Pauline, born May 19, 1874.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 26, Post-office, Sampsel).

By reason of his being a native-born citizen of the county no less than because of his excellent reputation as a progressive and enterprising agriculturist, Mr. Sneed enjoys an extensive acquaintance in this community. His birth occurred here September 26, 1849. His grandfather, John Sneed, had a son Silas, and the latter after reaching manhood married Miss Catherine Boucher, daughter of Elisha and Sarah Boucher, the former a Kentuckian by birth, and the latter of Tennessee nativity. Silas Sneed also came originally from Kentucky and his wife was born in this State. Their son James M., was reared in this county on a farm, and he has continued to give his attention to this calling during life. His place now numbers 40 acres, and while not as large as many in the county, is cultivated in such a superior manner that splendid yields are produced. He takes special interest in stock raising and trading, and in this occupation has met with substantial results. Mr. Sneed is deserving of great credit for his rise in the material affairs of life, for his efforts have been made unaided by outside help or influence. June 12, 1879, Mr. Sneed was married in Ray county, Mo., Miss Sarah Hickman becoming his wife. She was born and reared in East Tennessee and in 1870 came to Missouri with her parents, S. and Elizabeth Hickman. In the family of the latter couple were nine children. Mr; and Mrs. Sneed have been blessed with two children: Addie, born February 24, 1879, and Moses, born April 30, 1885. Besides these four died in infancy. Personally Mr. Sneed is held in high esteem.


(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 15, Post-office, Sampsel).

Clark county, O., has furnished to this county a number of representative men and among them might be mentioned John Ulrick, who was born there August 27, 1840. He is of German origin, his paternal grandfather, Adam Ulrick, having come to this country in an early day and made his home in Lancaster county, Pa., on the site of the present cities of Lancaster and Reading, and he is remembered as having been the founders of those cities. John's parents, Adam and Eliza S. (Swartz) Ulrick, were born, reared and married in Pennsylvania and early went to Ohio, where Mr. U. resided until his death in 1843. Himself and wife were consistent members of the United Brethren Church and were largely instrumental in the establishment of churches of that faith in Clark county, O. Their remains are now interred in the cemetery connected with the Stublehill Church. The father was occupied in farming during life and met with good success. He had six children: Angeline, wife of Joseph Wood, of Clark county, O.; Adam, died in September, 1883; Edward, a resident of Shelby county, O.; Henry S., of Chariton county, Mo. (all of whom were born in Pennsylvania), and Eliza S., now deceased, who died when young. With this exception the children all reached mature years. Left orphans when young by the death of their parents, their careers in life have been worked out by individual efforts. John's school privileges were rather limited and from the very first he has been engaged in tilling the soil. In 1862 be enlisted in the Union army under Capt. William Mayse, Co. H, 86th Ohio volunteers, and served for four months, then being honorably discharged at Camp Delaware, O. Returning home, he remained there until coming to Missouri in April, 1865, since which time he has closely applied himself to his adopted calling. Mr. Ulrick was married October 14, 1869, by Rev. J. Y. Blakey, pastor of the M. E. Church, to Miss Martha J., only surviving daughter of Absalom and Rosannah Brown (now deceased). The parents of the latter were William and Martha McClare. Mrs. U. was born in Missouri, December 10, 1848. They have seven children: Ginevra A., born December 14, 1871; Sarah L., born September 24, 1873; Henry A, born September 2, 1876; Edgar A. P., born August 12, 1884, now living, and three deceased: Lettie E., born October 22, 1870, died November 11, 1870; Brown, born June 22, 1872, now deceased, and Martha A., born August 14, 1876, died March 28, 1881. Mr. and Mrs. U. are members of the Methodist Church.


(Farmer, Post-office, Sampsel).

This enterprising young agriculturist is also numbered among those of Missouri birth and natives of this county, who are now residing here, and his long residence in this community and thorough familiarity with agricultural pursuits have placed him prominently towards the front among the farmers of this township. His birth occurred January 13, 1849, his parents being Alba J. and Jane Waddle, Virginians by birth, who came to this State in 1846. They remained here until 1862 and then went to Kansas, residing there until the death of Mr. W. in 1863. Their children were named Elizabeth, Mary, James, Lucretia, Eliza, John, Louis, Margaret, William, Montgomery and Ellen. Milton's mother afterwards married a noted wit and humorist, Samuel Thompson, June 13,1865. The subject of this sketch was reared to a farm experience and reaching the age when it became necessary for him to select some calling in life, he wisely chose farming, and has since continued it with substantial success. His present place includes 80 acres, improved in a worthy manner. October 30, 1871, Mr. Waddle was married to Miss Brunett B. Frith, daughter of John and Elmira Frith, the parents of John being Henry and Amerlia Frith, nee Campbell. Five of the eight children born to Mr. and Mrs. Waddle are living: Thomas B., born October 24, 1875; Mary C., born February 6, 1877; Annie, born July 4, 1882, and Edna E. and Charles L., twins, born January 8, 1884. Those deceased are, Leora, born December 4, 1872, died February 14, 1876; Chloe E., born September 10, 1874; died September 6, 1875, and John D., born January 24, 1880, died May 18, 1880. Mr. and Mrs. W. are members of the Methodist Church.

Table of Contents

Previous Chapter

Next Chapter